Skip to main content

CURRICULUM SUBJECTS: Art

Subscription databases and search portals to support your research.

Resources

Australian eResources

7 Elements of Art

Articles

Edvard Munch's portrait of philosopher Friedrich Nietzsche

Cecil Beaton and Jackson Pollock

YouTube channels

Use these video clips to help you with your research.

  • Art 21
    Art 21 is considered one of the best YouTube channels on art. There are loads of videos to explore on all forms of visual art.
  • Art of the Western World
    A whole series about art of the western world, beginning with this episode, the Greeks.
  • Mark Crilley
    Another top-ranking YouTube channel, Mark Crilley's site gives excellent instruction on how to draw across a range of styles.
  • Eclectic Asylum Art
    Eclectic portraits created with a range of materials.
  • Sycra
    Sycra's videos are designed to ' inspire, instruct, and entertain'.
  • Ctrl+Paint
     
  • Will Terrell
    Will Terrell is a storyboard artist, illustrator and comic book creator. This channel displays some of his amazing talent.
  • TATE Museum
    Video clips from the Tate Museum in London

eTools

Reference

The information on these websites cover art movements, particular exhibits, and timelines.

Talking about Art

Lynda Barry’s Syllabus: An Illustrated Field Guide to Keeping a Visual Diary

and Cultivating the Capacity for Creative Observation

How to master the infinitely rewarding art of “being present and seeing what’s there.”

Khan Academy : ART HISTORY

Art with Mati & Dada

Art with Mati and Dada is an animated series co-produced by the Italian production company Achtoons and Rai Fiction, the production arm of the Italian Pubcast. 

Link : https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCR2NlUr0yPuqRxZN_7ItHog/videos

Useful websites for Visual Arts

Use these websites to help you with your research.

  • Art Almanac
    Australia's monthly briefing on art.
  • Visual Art Teacher
    Blog by Scott Avery (TAFE Qld Brisbane, South Bank campus)
  • Google Art Project
    The Art Project is a collaboration between Google and some of the world’s most acclaimed and diverse art institutions. You can now explore art collections from around the world, view artworks at incredible zoom levels and create your own gallery.
  • Design & Art Australia Online
    Design and Art Australia Online (DAAO) is an open source freely accessible scholarly e-Research tool that presents biographical data about Australian artists, designers, craftspeople and curators.
  • Artcyclopedia
    This website provides links to to online images of works by artists whose works have been collected by museums.
  • Art - Stuff
    Visual arts resources, ideas, tips, techniques, options and stratgies for artist and student alike.
  • Art21
    Information and programs devoted to the exploration of contemporary art and artists - includes reviews of artists, blogs, industry information and film from the Art in the 21st Century series
  • Art Babble
    Video and discussions covering a broad spectrum of art forms across the world
  • ArtsHub
    Jobs and news from the Australian arts industry
  • BBC Arts and Culture
    News from the arts and culture sphere, with accompanying video and audio.
  • Illustration Friday
    Website featuring a weekly challenge for illustrators
  • Art & design education resource guide: what to study, where to study.
    A comprehensive guide to art and design courses at universities, TAFE colleges, and private schools in Australia and New Zealand and selected colleges in South East Asia.
  • Art history resources
    Vast number of links to art history resources on the web. This is part of the home page for the Fine Arts department at Sweet Briar College in Virginia. Very extensive list of art images.
  • Design & Art Australia online
    Dictionary of Australian artists
  • Modern and contemporary artists
    Sculpture, painting, installation artists, print, performance, photography, collage and multimedia and digital artists. The current, the famous, established and emerging artists since 1900, with links to webresources with images of their work, comprehensive biographies and articles, and if it exists, the artist‘s personal website

Art and Art History

Art Deadlines List
A monthly newsletter (via email or paper) with several hundred announcements (every month!) listing art contests & competitions, art scholarships & grants, juried exhibitions, art jobs & internships, call for entries/proposals/papers, ... and other opportunities (including some that take place on the web) for artists, art educators and art students of all ages. There is a limited free edition or a fee-based "premium edition."
Craft Organizations : Penland School of Crafts
a lengthy and refined list; other links on this page include Craft Resources, Craft Magazines, and Artist's Websites.
African Americans in the Visual Arts: A Historical Perspective
Archives of American Art
Choice Highly Recommended site; Smithsonian; a repository of primary materials; many collections have been digitized, but some are still on microfilm.
African Art on the Internet
Stanford University
African American Highlights—Smithsonian Inventories of American Painting & Sculpture
includes personal papers, gallery records, and some oral history interviews, ncluding Edward Mitchell Bannister, Romare Bearden, Horace Pippin, and Henry Ossawa Turner
Art Access: African American Art
Art Institute of Chicago; Henry Ossawa Tanner, Jacob Lawrence, Archibold J. Motley, jr., Richard Hunt, Alma Thomas, Romare Bearden, Kerry James Marshall, Glenn Ligon
ArtBabble
a Web site based at the Indianapolis Museum of Art, provides a forum for various art institutions to place their in-house productions including videos, stills, interviews, views of collections/special exhibitions, and various other information from the collections online....One excellent feature is the site's presentation of high-resolution videos not found on other sites. Also, unlike other online sources, ArtBabble provides more in-depth information about the film clips, and other features, than most sites.
Artcyclopedia: Guide to Great Art on the Internet
Choice Highly Recommended site
Art, Design and Visual Thinking: An Interactive Textbook
from a course taught by Charlotte Jirousek at Cornell
Art History Research Center
Choice Highly Recommended site
Arthistoricum.net: Virtual Library for Art History
Arthistoricum.netis a European portal to library catalogues, image databases, electronic publications, and Web resources for art history researchers/educators. While navigation is in English, much of the site links out to foreign language sites.
Art Images for College Teaching
Choice Highly Recommended site; a personal, nonprofit Web site, with the intention of disseminating images of art and architectural works in the public domain on a free-access, free-use basis to all levels of the educational community. Including a wide range of wonderful images, mostly paintings, sculpture, and architecture, with an emphasis on the ancient, medieval, and the Renaissance in Europe.
ArtLex: Dictionary of Visual Arts
Choice Highly Recommended site; in addition to definitions contains many thumbnail images, and links to art sites
Art Project, powered by Google
Art Project applies Google's Street View technology to the experience of visiting a museum. Google has partnered with (for now) 17 of the world's top museums, including the Uffizi Gallery in Florence, Italy; the National Gallery in London; and the Metropolitan Museum of Art in New York.... The works contained in Art Project are at the discretion of individual museums, which also have provided the information included with each work. Certain images will be blurred, again at the discretion of each museum and for copyright reasons. Though the images cannot be downloaded, visitors to the site may create their own Artwork Collection by saving a particular view of any of the more than 1,000 images included within the site.... he site's navigational design encourages exploration in the same way one might experience the museum in person. 
ArtsJournal : Daily Art News
Choice Outstanding site
ArtSource
Art Studio Chalkboard
Focus is on the technical fundamentals of perspective, shading, color and painting
Becker Collection: Drawings of the American Civil War Era
CAMEO: Conservation And Art Material Encyclopedia Online
Choice Highly Recommended site; an electronic database that compiles, defines, and distributes technical information on terms, materials, and techniques used in the fields of art conservation and historic preservation as an extension of the Museum of Fine Arts (MFA), Boston.
Coleccion Patricia Phelps de Cisneros
The Collection works to increase understanding and awareness of Latin America's contributions to the history of art and ideas.
Core77.com: Design Magazine & Resource
Choice Outstanding site
Design Addict
Choice Highly Recommended site; Billed as "the portal for modern and post-modern design," this site is a treasure for those interested in researching three-dimensional design.
Exploring Themes in American Art
Choice Highly Recommended site; National Gallery of Art
Hay in Art
begun as an online exhibit, the site has evolved into a database of 6,779 items; amazing and intriguing to say how much art "has" hay
IFLA Directory of Art Libraries
directory of information on more than 3,000 art libraries around the world
Images of Women in Ancient Art:
Choice Highly Recommended site; sub-titled: Issues of Interpretation and Identity; explores archeological remnants of female representation in ancient art; writing style is informative and casual
Images of American Design
Choice Highly Recommended site; offers tours of selected images from the approximately 17,000  watercolor renderings of American decorative arts objects from the colonial period through the nineteenth century.
International Foundation for Art Research
According to the site, IFAR, a scholarly nonprofit organization, "offers impartial and authoritative information on authenticity, ownership, theft, and other artistic, legal, and ethical issues concerning art objects." 
LaborArts
Online Museum at NYU's Bobst Library; it gathers materials from major labor archives/libraries and the Library of Congress. Major categories are : Buttons & Badges; Cartoons; Leaflets & Pamphlets; Murals & Paintings; Photographs; Music
Making Sense of Modern Art
interactive and thereby very processor intensive; A top navigation bar allows users to return to the main menu or the previous screen. Firsthand accounts, authoritative analysis, and sharp interactive elements both illustrate complex ideas and allow deep understanding of individual artworks.
Medieval Art and Architecture
U. Pittsburg; a particularly good sub-set on Chartres
The Metropolitan Museum of Art's Timeline of Art History
Mother of All Art and Art History Links
Choice Outstanding site; The strengths of this gateway site are its clear organization, breadth, and variety of links; some of the best links are in contemporary, Asian, and African art; U. Michigan
National Endowment for the Arts
Pre-Raphaelite Online Resource
Prints and Photographs Online Catalog
Choice Highly Recommended site; The catalog of the Library of Congress' prints and photographs; provides access to more than 65 percent of the holdings, and provides documentation for about 1 million images available online.
Provenance in the World War II Era, 1933-1945
Smithsonian; Provenance is defined as the history of ownership of an artwork or other artifact and provides important information about the attribution (determination of authorship) of the object. See especially "What is Provenance Research?" and "What is World War II Cultural Property?".
Smarthistory: A Multimedia Web-Book about Art and Art History
an impressive group of scholars contribute content to this free Web site, which functions as a multimedia art history resource and adjunct to college art history survey texts. The site consists of two parts: a database of information about individual works of art and a substantial offering of videos to download. 
Smithsonian: Art and Design
Smithsonian : Catalog of American Portraits : Portrait Search
The Triumph of the Baroque: Architecture in Europe 1600-1750
Choice Highly Recommended site
Turn of the Century Posters
Choice Highly Recommended site; NY-Public Library; mostly from the 1890's
Van Gogh's Letters
Choice Highly Recommended site; etters of Vincent van Gogh and his brother Theo; this is a comprehensive and accurate collection, translated by Vincent's sister Johanna van Gogh-Bonger and Robert Harrison. In the edited HTML version of the letters, topics are highlighted for easy identification. A chronological calendar makes it easy to browse by time period; a few facsimiles of the original letters are included.
Voice of the Shuttle: Art History
Choice Highly Recommended site;  covers all art except Modern & Contemporary
Voice of the Shuttle: Art Modern and Contemporary
Choice Highly Recommended site; includes a subset of links on Art and Technology
Women Artists of the American West
Choice Outstanding site; This Web site was developed as an Internet course and interdisciplinary resource on women's contributions to art and history of the American West. Content is broad ranging, loosely connected, but uniformly high in quality and reliability. Purdue University
Web Resources for American Art
The Nelson-Atkins Museum of Art, Kansas City, MO) has compiled a comprehensive and growing index of American art Web resources over the past decade. The list focuses on sites related to American art before 1945. 
WSSLINKS: Women & Art Sites
Choice Highly Recommended site
WWW Virtual Library: Art History
WWW Virtual Library: Ceramics

eResources

Cross Curriculum eResources

The unexpected math behind Van Gogh's "Starry Night" - Natalya St. Clair

Jeanne Mammen ~ 1920's Art Deco art fashion illustration

Jeanne Mammen (1890–1976) was a German painter and illustrator of the Weimar period.

Her work is associated with the New Objectivity 

and Symbolism movements.

She is best known for her depictions of strong, sensual women and Berlin city life

Literacy in Art