Skip to main content

CURRICULUM SUBJECTS: Economics

Subscription databases and search portals to support your research.

Definitions

Economics is a social science that analyzes and describes the consequences of choices made concerning scarce productive resources. It  is the study of how individuals and societies choose to employ those resources: what goods and services will be produced, how they will be produced, and how they will be distributed among the members of society.

 

 

All definitions from Britannica Online

Italics--aka the <em> tag, and the <cite> tag--are used to indicate quotations from other reviewers as well as titles within a site description.

Statisticss and Data eResources

Websites- Commentary

Department of Treasury- Economic Roundup; Publkished Quarterly by the Department of Treasury, Economic Roundup provides articles dealing with factors influencing the Australian Economy from trade to bi-lateral relations to monetary and fiscal policy.

Australian Policy Online; Policy Online is a research database and alert service providing free access to full text research reports and papers, statistics and other resources essential for public policy development and implementation in Australia and New Zealand. Policy Online includes material from over 2,500 sources and regularly monitors over 500 organisations including academic research centres and institutes, government departments, think tanks, NGOs and other media and information networks, in order to select and catalogue high quality open access research on public interest issues in Australia.

ANZ Research- Australian Industry and EconomicsANZ Research release forecasts, analyses and data commentaries on recent developments and prospects within the Australian economy. They also release research on various industry sectors including housing and articles on topical issues. 

Australian Chamber of Commerce and Industry- Research and Publications: ACCI commissions a comprehensive suite of economic surveys that provide an authentic and authoritative snapshot of the current state of the Australian economy.

Commonwealth Bank- Economics Research: The CBA provides a number of different reports on economic policy and developments. These include; periodic reports covering developments and movements in major markets worldwide, monthly publications offering a comprehensive insight into our internal economic indicators, business and services reports and surveys that reflect current domestic market conditions and expectations and reports and updates on events in global markets and what they mean for the Australian economy.

National Australia Bank- Business Research and Insights: Reports providing important data and events as well as key information affecting the Australian market.

Reserve Bank of Australia- Publications: The Reserve Banks puts out a number of publications relating to Monetary Policy, general economic conditions and research on issues impacting on the Australian economy.

Westpac- Australian Economic ReportsReports providing important data and events as well as key information affecting the Australian market - prepared by Westpac Economics.

Macquarie Bank (Investment Managment)- Economic UpdatesA snapshot of financial market and Australian Economy news provided by  Macquarie Research.

AMP Capital- Economic Updates: The content of these reports is based on research and analysis conducted by AMP Capital's Investment Strategy and Economics team. If you want to keep in touch with financial market news, these economic updates provide a convenient weekly and monthly snapshot.

Government Websites

Government websites which provide links to statistics and commentary for businesses.
Australian:

business.gov.au

Austrade

ABARE (rural sector)

Consultancy Firms

Consultancy firms conduct and publish industry research. You will locate market research reports at these company wesites. You can access global industry information by switching between the national sites for each firm:

Market Research Companies

Market research companies provide up to date market insights:

Demography

Population

  • United Nations Statistical Databases
    Demographic yearbooks back to 1948, population and housing censuses and statistics on other social indicators.
  • OECDiLibrary
    SourceOECD is the online library of the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development. It comprises 20 book collections by theme, containing monographs and reports; periodicals; a reference title adn OECD statistical databases including IEA statistics, country reports and tables. Coverage includes economics, development and social issues, transport and science and technology.
  • World Development Indicators
    World Development Indicators provides a comprehensive selection of economic, social and environmental indicators, drawing on data from the World Bank and more than 30 partner agencies. The data goes back to 1960 and covers 214 economies.
  • WTO Statistics
    The World Trade Organisation provides up-to-date statistics by country, industries and products.
  • Eurostat
    Eurostat provides free online European country profiles, data tables and key European statistics. The statistical section for the European Commission covers economy and finance, population and social conditions, industry, trade and services, agriculture and fisheries, external trade, transport, environment and energy, and science and technology.
  • Census.gov
    United States' Census Bureau is an excellent source of US demographic data. See also data and infographics for the 2010 US Census.
  • UK National Statistics - Population
    Very good source for UK population statistics covering size and distribution of the population and trends in population change including migration, fertility, deaths, families and ageing.
  • Statistics New Zealand - Population
    Statistics New Zealand provides population statistics covering births, deaths, estimates and projections as well as migration. Also contains a section on demographic trends.
  • OFFSTATS - Official Statistics on the Web
    OFFSTATS was established by the University of Auckland to provide access to an extensive range of free statistics from official sources globally. Statistics are arranged by country, region or subject. The database can be searched by a single category or a combination of categories.
  • Population Reference Bureau
    PRB provides demographic data and research around core themes including fertility, children and families, global health, ageing, poverty and migration.
  • Demographic and Health Surveys
    DHS conduct international surveys and collect data in the areas of population, health and nutrition.
  • International Labour Organization
    Key labour market statistics on the employed population, the informal economy, income, working time and occupations.

Key Reports:

  • CPOP - Committee on Population
    CPOP was established in 1983 by the National Academy of Sciences. Reports cover ageing, biodemography, ethnicity, fertility, migration, urbanisation and health.
  • Pew Research Center - Social & Demographic Trends
    The Pew Research Center studies behaviours and attitudes of Americans across a range of issues including family, community, health, finance, work and leisure. Note the relevant topics covering population projections and trends.

HEALTH

  • Australian Institute of Health and Welfare
    The AIHW is a national agency providing statistics and commentary on key determinants of health including data on aged care, disease, disability, hospitals, Indigenous Australians and many other subjects.
  • Department of Health and Ageing
    The Department of Health and Ageing has research and historical statistics on ageing and aged care, general practitioner, Medicare and a range of other health topics.
  • Medicare Australia
    Medicare provides a wide range of health-related statistics on the Medicare Benefits, Pharmaceutical Benefits and Repatriation Pharmaceutical Benefits Schemes. Other statistics include the Australian Organ Donor Register, the Practice Incentives Program and the Australian Childhood Immunisation Register.
  • ABS Topics @ a Glance - Health
    A wide range of health surveys and statistics on risk factors, health-related occupations, private hospitals and private health insurance is available.
  • Australian Institute of Health & Wellbeing - Indigenous Australians
    Contains statistics and analysis on topics such as indigenous health, community housing and infrastructure needs, education and financial stress.
  • WHO World Health Report
    The World Health Report has been published annually since 1995. It contains an assessment of global health, statistics covering all countries and each year a focus on a specific health topic.
  • Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) National Center for Health Statistics
    CDC publishes an annual report on national trends in health statistics. Topics include birth and death rates, infant mortality, life expectancy, risk factors, health insurance and other health-related issues.
  • Population Reference Bureau
    The PRB's DataFinder database contains data on reproductive health and fertility, global health and ageing as well as other topics. The data can be viewed by topic, country or region. US data comes from the US Census Bureau's dicennial census, American Community Survey and population estimates. International data primarily use national surveys and the sources for each indicator appear as footnotes.
  • Medline Plus Health Statistics
    Numerous links to research, statistics, organisations and news published on health related issues from expert sources globally.

Interest Rates

Free Databases

Australian eResources

How is poverty measured?

NBC LEARN

eResources (American Focus)

Antitrust Resources
American Antitrust Institute, links economic research, policy and cases
Bureau of Economic Analysis
.gov
Bureau of Labor Statistics
.gov
Business and Economic Links
MIT
Center for Global Development
Choice Highly Recommended site; Independent research and practical ideas for global prosperity
CNN Money.com
TimeWarner
C-Span.Org : Economic Stimulus
a useful source of information for doing research on the American Recovery and Investment Act (ARRA), commonly referred to as the Stimulus Bill. See also: Stimulus Watch
Council of Economic Advisors
Established by Congress in 1946, the Council is charged with studying all aspects of the economy and recommending economic policies to the US president. See also:
Economic Education Web
University of Omaha
EconData.net
 
Economagic: Economic Time Series Page
Presents a comprehensive collection of economic time series data gathered from US and foreign governmental agencies, trade associations, and so on.
Economic Commission for Latin America and the Caribbean
Choice Highly Recommended site
Economic Growth Resources
UK
Economic Mobility Project: An Initiative of the Pew Charitable Trusts
a joint research project between six think tanks across the political spectrum, this project has generated new findings regarding the extent and nature of socioeconomic mobility in America.
FDIC: Federal Deposit Insurance Corporation
Choice Outstanding site; one of the agency's roles is to examine and supervise financial institutions, a role it fulfills by collecting and analyzing annual survey data from individual banks. This data and analysis is freely available on the FDIC site under the Industry Analysis tab. The Historical Statistics on Banking link leads to charts on income statement and balance sheet figures for banks from 1934 forward.
The Federal Reserve Bank of San Francisco
Choice Outstanding site; While each of the district banks maintain a Web site to disseminate news relevant to individuals and businesses in the district; some districts do an unusually good job. This site is well organized, and the top-level categories correspond to the different segments of the Fed's audience. In fact, the distinguishing features of this site are mostly aimed at academic users. Some of the educational materials are truly unique among the Fed web sites. For example a keyword search in Fed in Print, which was developed by the San Francisco bank, for a term such as "recession" brings up 313 Fed articles written from 1958 to the present.
Federal Reserve Board: Beige Book Archives
Summary of commentary on current economic conditions by Federal Reserve district; includes link to most recent editions as well as searchable backfiles
Federal Reserve Board: Summary of Commentary on Current Economic Conditions by Federal Reserve District
Choice Highly Recommended site; The most current Beige Book
Federal Reserve Board [formerly Board of Governors]
 
FRED: An Economic Time-Series Data Base
The Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis
Financial Crisis News Center
Developed and maintained by CCH publications, a major publisher of tax, legal and business information; provides news updates and links to information on the current financial crisis; site makes very good use of current technology; users can subscribe to the site via email or RSS feed.
Global Distribution of Poverty
Choice Highly Recommended site; For such a dense site, it loads quickly and provides links (at least in the data sets download section) to metadata describing the downloadable objects. Because of the various types of files available--spreadsheets, PowerPoint, etc.--users should be aware that they may not have access to all available data; accessibility depends on how robust a user's local library or personal computer happens to be. Quality varies among files as well, though not enough to compromise data presentation. A project of Columbia University's Earth Institute and Center for International Earth Science Information Network, and the World Bank's Japan Policy and Human Resources Development Fund
History of Economic Thought
New School
Index of Economic Freedom
A publication of the Heritage Foundation; covers 161 countries.
International Economics Resources
as of 1 July 2011; an archived site; UK
International Monetary Fund: Country Information
Choice Highly Recommended site; information on 188 countries
International Trade Administration
.gov
Liber8: An Economic Information Portal
Choice Outstanding site; Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis
The Library of Economics and Liberty
A compilation of seminal works from commentators on economics, with a particular point of view tying all the various names together. A review noted: "Viewpoint is the recognition of the sanctity of the individual, along with a general regard for personal liberty....The site is maintained by the Liberty Fund."
McMaster University Archive for The History of Economic Thought
 
Money: Past, Present and Future
UK
OFFSTATS : Official Statistics on the Web
Choice Outstanding site, 2007
rationalexpectations.com: economics & finance gateway
International in scope; emphasis macroeconomic data; financial information arranged by categories
Research Papers in Economics (RePEc)
includes mostly full-text database of working papers, articles, chapter listings, etc.
Resources for Economists on the Internet
Choice Outstanding site
U.S. Department of the Treasury
Choice Outstanding site; The main organizational scheme does an admirable job of streamlining navigation of this vast organization. The six horizontal menu items directly mirror the Treasury's primary areas of focus: Coins and Currency, Economy, Illicit Finance, Financial Markets, International, and Taxes. The horizontal menu bar provides ready access to supporting information and popular links. A search box is consistently located throughout the site and provides advanced search options as well as the ability to sort results by relevancy or date. Material is reliably dated, a particularly helpful feature for researchers.
VIBES--Virtual International Business and Economic Sources
University of North Carolina - Charlotte
WebEc: WWW Resources in Economics
part of the WWW-Virtual Library
The World Bank Group
 
World Bank Open Data
Choice Outstanding site; a completely new Open Data initiative which for the first time allows Web access to the bank's vast collection of economic, social, population, and development data with no restrictions and at not cost.
World Trade Organization
 
Yale Center for the Study of Globalization
Choice Highly Recommended site

General Economics Resources

Investopedia

Economics and Business. It also provides analysis and commentary on topics related to economics and business.Investopedia is a great free online dictionary which provides definitions and explainations of all things related to economis and business.  It's primary focus is on business and investment and it is quite US centric however it is a great easy to use site which also proivides global commentary on all things buiness and economics.

 

 

 

OECD Economic Survey- Australia

OECD's periodic review of the Australian economy examines recent economic developments, policies and prospects. 

 

Economics Students Society of Australia (ESSA)

ESSA strives to be the point of difference in your University experience through uniting theory and reality. They innovatively connect like-minded students together to ignite a passionate economics community that is more informed, engaged and aware of the breadth of opportunities and unique multidisciplinary relevance of economics.

 

Australian Industry Group

Ai Group’s Economics Team specialises in monitoring, assessing and analysing developments in the Australian economy.They provide de tailed, real-time insights into Australia’s economic and policy environment for members and businesses, through their program of regular surveys, reports and specialist research
.

 

 

  

Industry Webpages

Agriculture

ABARESABARES is a research bureau within the Department of Agriculture. They provide professionally independent research, analysis and advice for government and private sector decision-makers on significant issues affecting Australia’s agriculture, fisheries and forestry industries.

Department of AgricultureThe Australian Department of Agriculture's role is to develop and implement policies and programs that ensure Australia's agricultural, fisheries, food and forestry industries remain competitive, profitable and sustainable. On the home page there is a publications section which carries reports concerning key aspects of agriculture in Australia.

Australian Primary Industry Groups- This page provides a list of links to various official bodies of sub-sectors in the agricultural sector. 

ABS- The Australian Bureau of Statistics provides a wide range of data on Australia's agricultural sector.

National Farmers FederationThe National Farmers' Federation (NFF) is the peak national body representing farmers and, more broadly, agriculture across Australia. It is one of Australia's foremost and respected advocacy organisations

FAO Country Profiles- The Food and Agriculture Organisation of the United Nations provides country summary pages of the national agriculture industry. These pages contain statistics, news and information on the macro economic and natural environment issues impacting the agricultural sector.

The Land- The primary news source for all things agriculture in Australia

Mining

Minerals Council of AustraliaThe Minerals Council of Australia (MCA) represents Australia’s exploration, mining and minerals processing industry, nationally and internationally. MCA member companies produce more than 85 per cent of Australia’s annual mineral output. They provide news and reports into the Australian mining industry.

ABS-  The Australian Bureau of Statistics provides a wide range of data on Australia's mining sector.

Austrade- The Australian Trade Commission provides details, news and data about the Australian mining industry. They also provide links to Federal and Satae government bodies as well as the main industry bodies.

Australian Mines Atlas- The Australian Mines Atlas put out by Geoscience Australia contains the Australian Atlas of Mineral Resources, Mines, and Processing Centres as well as information about the various resources mined in Australia.

Department of Industry- Australian government department responsible for overseeing the mining industry. It provides publications, links to legislation and data all relating to the Australian mining industry.

Australian Uranium Association-  Provides reports, news and data on Uranium mining in Australia. 

Australian Coal Association- Provides reports, news and data on Coal mining in Australia.

Finance

ABSThe Australian Bureau of Statistics provides a wide range of data on Australia's financial sector.

Australian Centre for Financial Studies- The Australian Centre for Financial Studies (ACFS) facilitates industry-relevant, rigorous research and independent commentary. Drawing on expertise from academia, industry and government, ACFS promotes thought leadership in the financial sector.

Australian Prudential Regulation Authority (APRA)The Australian Prudential Regulation Authority (APRA) oversees banks, credit unions, building societies, general insurance and reinsurance companies, life insurance, friendly societies and most members of the superannuation industry. They provide reports, news and statistics on Australias financial services sector.

Austrade- The Australian Trade Commission provides details, news and data about the Australian financial services sector. They also provide links to Federal and Satae government bodies as well as the main industry bodies.

Australian Government (Finance Industry)- A list of links to governent pages with information covering vaious aspects of the financial services industry.

Services

ABSThe Australian Bureau of Statistics provides a wide range of data on Australia's services industries.

Australian Trade Commission- The Australian Trade Commission (Austrade) provides information including reports, news and statistics on many of Australia's services industries.

Productivity Commission- A link to the Productivity Commission's paper on Australia's Services Sector.

Australian Services Roundtable- The Australian Services Roundtable is the peak business body for the Australian services industries. They provide news and reports on Australia's services industries.

Manufacturing

Department of Industry-  Provides an overview of Australia's manufacturing industry with links to other relevant sources.

ABSThe Australian Bureau of Statistics provides a wide range of data on Australia's manufacturing industry.

Australian ManufacturingAustralian Manufacturing is one of Australia’s largest online magazines, dedicated as a user-generated resource for the Manufacturing industry.

Demographics

HEALTH

  • Australian Institute of Health and Welfare
    The AIHW is a national agency providing statistics and commentary on key determinants of health including data on aged care, disease, disability, hospitals, Indigenous Australians and many other subjects.
  • Department of Health and Ageing
    The Department of Health and Ageing has research and historical statistics on ageing and aged care, general practitioner, Medicare and a range of other health topics.
  • Medicare Australia
    Medicare provides a wide range of health-related statistics on the Medicare Benefits, Pharmaceutical Benefits and Repatriation Pharmaceutical Benefits Schemes. Other statistics include the Australian Organ Donor Register, the Practice Incentives Program and the Australian Childhood Immunisation Register.
  • ABS Topics @ a Glance - Health
    A wide range of health surveys and statistics on risk factors, health-related occupations, private hospitals and private health insurance is available.
  • Australian Institute of Health & Wellbeing - Indigenous Australians
    Contains statistics and analysis on topics such as indigenous health, community housing and infrastructure needs, education and financial stress.
  • WHO World Health Report
    The World Health Report has been published annually since 1995. It contains an assessment of global health, statistics covering all countries and each year a focus on a specific health topic.
  • Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) National Center for Health Statistics
    CDC publishes an annual report on national trends in health statistics. Topics include birth and death rates, infant mortality, life expectancy, risk factors, health insurance and other health-related issues.
  • Population Reference Bureau
    The PRB's DataFinder database contains data on reproductive health and fertility, global health and ageing as well as other topics. The data can be viewed by topic, country or region. US data comes from the US Census Bureau's dicennial census, American Community Survey and population estimates. International data primarily use national surveys and the sources for each indicator appear as footnotes.
  • Medline Plus Health Statistics
    Numerous links to research, statistics, organisations and news published on health related issues from expert sources globally.
Reproductive Health
 
 

Housing

Topics @ a Glance - Housing and Homelessness Statistics

Provides links to ABS housing occupancy and costs releases, building approvals and estimates of homelessness as well as related reports.

National Social Housing Survey 2012

An Australian Institute of Health and Welfare publication on social housing tenants.

UN Housing Statistics

A compendium of human settlements statistics going back to 1971.

UN-HABITAT's Global Urban Indicators

Statistics covering urbanisation, slum dwellings, access to improved sanitation and water as well as durable structures.

Census.gov - Housing

US data on homeownership, housing vacancies, rental housing and residential financing.

Eurostat - Housing Statistics

EU statistics on dwelling types, tenure status and housing affordability.

UK Homes and Communities Agency - Housing

Statistics on housing starts and completions, affordable housing, social housing as well as regenerating land.

Statistics New Zealand - Housing

Housing indicators such as occupancy rate, density, tenure status by age and family group and detailed examination of crowding issues.

Housing Reports:

  • Growing up in Australia
    "Growing up in Australia" is a longitudinal study of Australian children and their families.
  • Housing Affordability - COAG Reform Council
    Reports covering different types of homelessness, the proportion of homeless Indigenous population to the overall Australian population and progress towards reducing the number of homeless as well as reports on housing affordability.

EDUCATION:

  • Topics @ a Glance - Education & Training Statistics
    Provides a range of ABS statistics and reports on educational participation and also on the transition of people from education to work.
  • Australian Education International
    International student data back to 2002.
  • NSW Education & Communities
    Statistics and reports on enrolment and school information, student welfare, assessment, staff, apprenticeships and traineeships.
  • Department of Education Indigenous Schooling
    Links to reports on indigenous numeracy and literacy such as "Closing the Gaps", "Stronger Futures" and "Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Education Action Plan 2010-2014".
  • UNESCO Institute for Statistics - Education
    This is a comprehensive source of international education statistics. It covers 200 countries and territories and all education levels. Reports include topics such as gender parity, teachers and financing.
  • National Center for Education Statistics
    The National Center for Education Statistics is the main federal entity that collects data on US education. They publish reports on elementary, secondary and postsecondary education as well as international comparisons.
  • UK Department of Education
    The Department of Education provides statistics on a range of educational indicators from early intervention, attainment gaps, absence rates and school quality to outcome of education.
Reports
 

WORK:

REPORTS:
  • Intergenerational Report 2010
    This Treasury report covers the intergenerational challenges Australia has with an ageing population with fewer workers to support the retired population and a growing demand for health services.
  • Longitudinal Surveys of Australian Youth (LSAY)
    The LSAY studies the transitions young people make from school to post-school training and the labour market.

SOCIAL

  • Topics @ a Glance - Social Capital
    As well as reports on demography, health, indigenous issues, sport and culture, there are numerous links to surveys and statistics on various aspects of social capital. These include people's participation in their communities, living arrangements, cultural diversity and religious affiliation.
  • The Australian Survey of Social Attitudes (AuSSA)
    The AuSSA is undertaken by the Australian Consortium for Social and Political Research and covers Australian trends and changes in social attitudes, beliefs and opinions. Links to the two published books analysing findings are set out below.
  • Australian Social Attitudes - The First Report
    Contains AuSSA analysis on Australian attitudes to family, work and politics as well as behavioural decisions such as membership of community organisations and media consumption.
  • Australian Social Attitudes 2: Citizenship, Work and Aspirations
    Further analysis from AuSSA on Australians' attitudes and beliefs including citizenship and participation, globalisation, work and aspirations.
  • The World Bank - Social Capital
    Covers the major themes of groups and networks, trust and solidarity, collective action and cooperation and social cohesion and inclusion.
  • NatCen Social Research
    NatCen publishes a yearly survey of British social and political attitudes that is used to inform public policy.
REPORT:

Pew Research Center

The Pew Research Center researches and reports on the "attitudes and trends" influencing the US and the rest of the world. Topics include politics, media, social trends, religion and technology.

.

Articles

eResources

The Economist

Interactives

Gamification

Government Websites

FISCAL POLICY

Government spending policies that influence macroeconomic conditions. Through fiscal policy, regulators attempt to improve unemployment rates, control inflation, stabilize business cycles and influence interest rates in an effort to control the economy. Fiscal policy is largely based on the ideas of British economist John Maynard Keynes (1883–1946), who believed governments could change economic performance by adjusting tax rates and government spending.

Federal Budget Papers

Past Budget Papers

 

State & Territory Budget Papers

        NSW                                        Past NSW Budget Papers

        Victoria                                   Past Victorian Budget Papers

        Queensland                           Past Queensland Budget Papers

        South Australia                     Past South Australian Budget Papers

        Western Australia                 Past Western Australia Budget Papers

        Tasmania                               Past Tasmanian Budget Papers

        ACT                                        Past ACT Budget Papers

        Northern Territory                Past Northern Territory Budget Papers

 

Other Government Fiscal Policy websites. 

Treasury-  Publications Reports and Papers

Statistics and Key Indicators

Sensis Business Index: The quarterly Sensis® Business Index has been tracking SME confidence and behaviour since February 1995. It surveys 1,800 metropolitan and regional SMEs from areas such as manufacturing, wholesale and retail trade, hospitality, construction, communication, property, business services, health, community services, cultural and recreational industries.

Westpac-Melbourne Institute Indexes of Economic ActivityPublished monthly, the Westpac  Melbourne Institute Indexes of Economic Activity report presents and examines movements in leading and coincident indicators of economic activity in Australia, together with comparative data from overseas.

Reserve Bank of Australia - Indicators of Spending and Confidence (Table G8). This table gives an historical time series of major economic indicators such as retail spending and business and consumer confidence.

Roy Morgan Consumer Confidence: The Roy Morgan Consumer Confidence Rating is 100.0 plus the simple unweighted average of the difference between the percentage of respondents who give a favourable and those who give unfavourable answers to five key questions. The Survey is conducted weekly.

ANZ Job Advertisement Series: The ANZ job advertisement series measures the number of jobs advertised in the major daily newspapers and Internet sites covering the capital cities each month.

National Economic Indicator Series: The National Economic Indicators Series is a set of key economic measures for every Local Government Area (LGA) in Australia. The series is drawn from National Economics (NIEIR) modeling and other relevant data sources and is updated annually.

 NAB Business Confidence Index: NAB conducts a number of surveys to gauge the opinions of business with regard to the state of the economy and their view of future economic conditions.

Australian Chamber of Commerce and Industry: The Australian Chamber of Commerce and Industry (ACCI) is the nations peak council of business organisations. ACCI's economic surveys provide regular and authoritative data about the experiences, attitudes and concerns of businesses of all sizes in all industry sectors across Australia. Their surveys include the ACCI-Westpac survey of industrial trends, the ACCI business expectations survey, ACCI small business survey and the ACCI survey of investor confidence.

Industry Websites

QUEENSLAND:  Business and industry portal

CSG-LNG industry

Energy

Water

Building and construction industry websites

Dairy industry websites

Fisheries and seafood industry websites

Food industry websites

Information industry

Pharmaceuticals industry websites

Department of Innovation, industry, science and research

Service industry websites

Tourism, leisure and sports industry websites

Wine industry websites

Tourism, leisure and sports industry websites

Banking industry

Monthly banking statistics

 

BONDS

  • ASX- Australian Bonds Market
    Contains information on both corporate and governments bonds including price, price history and bond market analysis/research.
  • Asian Bonds Online
    The Asian Bond Markets Initiative (ABMI) is an ASEAN+3 initiative supported by the Asian Development Bank. It is designed to promote bond market development in the region.
  • SIFMA- US
    Statistics and data pertaining to financial markets and the economy.

Ratings websites

  • Moody's Corporation
    Moody's provides credit ratings, research, tools and analysis about financial markets.
  • Standard & Poors
    Standard & Poor's Ratings Services provides high-quality market intelligence in the form of credit ratings, research, and thought leadership.
  • FitchRatings
    Fitch Ratings is a global provider of credit ratings and research. Fitch also provides of credit market data and analysis.

International Organisations

  • International Monetary Fund
    The IMF provides comprehensive research, analysis and statistics on global financial markets,
  • OECD Online
    Provides publications, data and analysis on global economic and financial markets primarily with a focus on OECD nations.
  • The World Bank Online
    The world bank offers a growing range of free, easy-to-access tools, research and knowledge to help people understand the world's development challenges. For example, the Open Data website offers free access to comprehensive, downloadable indicators about development in countries around the globe.

Market information websites

  • Trading Economics
    Trading Economics provides its users with accurate information for 196 countries including historical data for more than 300.000 economic indicators, exchange rates, stock market indexes, government bond yields and commodity prices. Their data is based on official sources, not third party data providers.
  • Bloomberg Business- Markets
    Providing statistics and pricing from markets across the globe.
  • AFR- Market Data
    Provides up to date data on the Australian financial market. It also provides news and analysis.
  • Institute of International Finance
    The IIF offers an independent source of global economic and financial research. The provide an assessment of the global outlook with a focus on key emerging economies, timely analysis of capital flows to emerging markets and developments in international financial markets.
  • Beyond the Blackstump
    A page of links to websites around the world that relate to all things finance.
  • Financial Scandals
    The Financial Scandals site contains links to sources of information on various frauds, scams, swindles or corporate scandals in banking, finance and related areas, and on corruption involving governments and business.
  • Yahoo- Australia and New Zealand Finance
    Contains market statistics, pricing, news and analysis from the Australian and New Zealand stock markets

World Economic Forum