Skip to main content

CURRICULUM SUBJECTS: ICT/ Design&Technology

Subscription databases and search portals to support your research.

General Reference

Refer also to SPCC LibGuide : ART: Principles of Design   LINK

Australian Designers at Work
‘Meet designers, learn how they work’. Select designers in areas including jewellery, interior design, industrial design, digital media. Powerhouse Museum [Sydney].

Interactives

eResources

Binary

GAME : Latin translators required

Robotics

A Gamers Perspective

Project Management Tools

FOR TEACHERS

Books in our LIbrary

Factors that Influence Design

Function, aesthetics, cultural influences, … .

  • Aesthetics
    Etymology, aesthetic judgement, aesthetics and the philosophy of art, aesthetic universals, criticism, history of aesthetics, modern aesthetics, post-modern aesthetics and psychoanalysis, aesthetics and information, applied aesthetics, aesthetic ethics, truth as beauty, computational inference, references, further reading, links. Wikipedia.

History of Design

Design over different periods of time, different cultures & regions.

Design is History
‘This site was created as a teaching tool for young designers just beginning to explore graphic design and as a reference tool for all designers. It is supposed to provide brief overviews of a wide range of topics rather than an in-depth study of only a few’.

Design Museum
‘Discover more about the designers, architects and technologies featured at the Design Museum in Design Library, our online research archive of modern and contemporary design’

History of Design Styles
Article that covers various styles and periods. Other links

Journal of Design History
‘Provides access to table of contents and abstracts of articles in issues from Volume 1 [1988] onwards. Abstracts, articles in PDF format are provided from 1998 to 2004, with full text and abstracts available from 2005 onwards’[Intute].

Retrowow
‘Retrowow offers abroad introduction to design in the 1950s, 1960s and 1970s. It is a well-illustrated tour of various design classics of these eras, broken up thematically into sections’ [Intute].

Books in our Library

Creative workshop : 80 challenges to sharpen your design skills  /  David Sherwin.  (2010)

Collection : S.T.E.A.M  Classification  S 153 SHE

Graphics explained : 7 top designers, 7 briefs, 49 solutions -- in their own words  /  Michael Evamy.  (2009)

Collection : S.T.E.A.M  Classification S 741.6 EVA

Graphic design thinking : beyond brainstorming  /  Ellen Lupton, editor.  (2011)

Collection : S.T.E.A.M  Classification S 741 GRA

Know Your Onions: Graphic Design  /  DE SOTO, Drew  (2011)

Collection : S.T.E.A.M  Classification S 741 DE

 

What is Coding? By the White Plains Public Library

eResources

CyberSafety

Ever wonder what would happen if you responded to spam email? Follow along as writer and comedian James Veitch narrates a hilarious, weeks-long exchange with a spammer who offered to cut him in on a hot deal. Link To Ted-Ed http://ed.ted.com/featured/KXdsX7lG

Your online life, permanent as a tattoo

Email Etiquette for Students

Principles of Design - Part 1

Universal design - what it is and what are its principles

The University of California expounds the following seven principles that make up universal design:
 
1. Equitable use
2. Flexibility in use
3. Simple and intuitive
4. Perception information
5. Tolerance for error
6. Low physical effort
7. Size and space for approach and use

Design Process
‘Gives detailed information on each stage of designing, examples regarding many stages involved in the building of a successful folder/project. Another section, Project Template, gives blank design templates for each stage of a project/folder’.

Link Here

MIT App Inventor

Creating an App Inventor app begins in your browser, where you design how the app will look. Then, like fitting together puzzle pieces, you set your app's behavior. All the while, through a live connection between your computer and your phone, your app appears on your phone.

You can build many different types of apps with App Inventor. Often people begin by building games like MoleMash or games that let you draw funny pictures on your friend's faces. You can even make use of the phone's sensors to move a ball through a maze based on tilting the phone.

But app building is not limited to simple games. You can also build apps that inform and educate. You can create a quiz app to help you and your classmates study for a test. With Android's text-to-speech capabilities, you can even have the phone ask the questions aloud.

To use App Inventor, you do not need to be a professional developer. This is because instead of writing code, you visually design the way the app looks and use blocks to specify the app's behavior.

http://appinventor.mit.edu/explore/

 

 

Women coders break new ground, and stereotypes

David Kelley: Design is Magical

Talks on Coding

Project Management

Software development requires that you be methodical and organised in delivering a project for your clients. Here you will find some resources that may assist you with this.

Impact of Technology

Includes past, present & emerging technologies.

Color Psychology: What Do Your Brand Colors Say About You?

Cross Curriculum eResources

Computer Networking Tutorial - 1 - Introduction to Networking

History of Computing

Kids and Teens: Computers: Education

Gestalt principle in your web design projects

PowerHouse Case Study

The Power Process

This case study focuses on a research project to design and develop language technology software. While computers are very effective at storing lots of information and they can generate text, it is a challenge to tell a computer to get information out of a database and to present it as text in a flexible way that suits individual needs. This is the challenge the project tried to solve.

 

Refugee Tagging

In 1994 immigration officials from the United States government implemented a system known as deployable mass population identification and tracking system (DMPITS). It was introduced in an effort to facilitate the processing of thousands of refugees from Cuba and Haiti.

TES

STORY OF THE WEB

SPLASH

Sparkfun