Skip to main content

CURRICULUM SUBJECTS: STEM and STEAM

Subscription databases and search portals to support your research.

Video

PotBiz

PotBiz: the innovation game

About the game
Learn how to be a successful innovator as you try to turn an idea for a decomposing plant pot into a profitable business.

You have a great idea – make a range of biodegradable plant pots which hold the plant roots and potting mix together during planting, in a material which will be decomposed by micro-organisms in the soil.

 

 

Gambling

Gambling: calculating the risk

About this site : Gambling: calculating the risk is an educational website which helps you learn about mathematics and probability, as applied to lotto, instant scratchies, roulette and poker machines. The mathematical challenges get harder the further you go as you gain an understanding about the probabilities of winning and losing.

You will discover something about how these forms of gambling work, their history, how much Australians spend on gambling, and where to seek help if gambling becomes a problem for an individual or family members

Sylvia's super-awesome

Book in our Library:

Sylvia's super-awesome project book. Volume 2, Super simple Arduino!  /  concept, design and text by 'Super-Awesome' Sylvia and James Todd; illustrations by Sylvia Todd.  (2014)

STEAM Collection : S 629.8 TOD

Wonderville

eResources

eResources for Inquiry & Inventive Thinking

Digital Sculpture

SLQ DESIGN MINDS

Mental Aerobics is a series of short exercises designed to stretch the mind and prepare students for creative thinking. These exercises are supported by elements from the dimensions of learning, the thinking skills framework and graphic organisers. The dimensions of learning (curriculum intent, sequencing of teaching and learning, making judgement, assessment and feedback) provide a framework for the activities. The thinking skills framework and the use of graphic organisers provide ready tools for students’ engagement with problem- solving and encourage higher order thinking (including creative thinking

http://designminds.org.au/toolkit-mental-aerobics/

 

Websites

Exploring 10,000 Steps a Day with Science

Young Hackathon Play Book

Books in our LIbrary : S.T.E.A.M Collection

The creative habit : learn it and use it for life : a practical guide  /  Twyla Tharp ; with Mark Reiter.

COLLECTION : S.T.E.A.M  Classification S 153 THA

The Creative License: Giving yourself permission to be the artist you truly are  /  GREGORY. Danny

COLLECTION : S.T.E.A.M  Classification S 741 GRE

How to be an explorer of the world : portable life museum  /  Keri Smith.  (2011)

COLLECTION : S.T.E.A.M  Classification S 153 SMI

Show your work! 10 ways to share your creativity and get discovered  /  KLEON, Austin  (2014)

COLLECTION : S.T.E.A.M  Classification  S 650 KLE

Whatcha mean, what's a zine? : the art of making zines and mini comics  /  Mark Todd + Esther Pearl Watson ; with contributions by more than 20 creators of indie comics and magazines.  (2006)

COLLECTION : S.T.E.A.M  Classification S 741.5 TOD

The Lego Mindstorms EV3 discovery book : a beginner's guide to building and programming robots  /  Laurens Valk.  (2014)

COLLECTION : S.T.E.A.M  Classification S 629.8 VAL

 

ABC SPLASH

For teachers and Students:

Teaching technologies? Resources to help

If you’re teaching students technologies this year, check out these 300+ resources to help, from videos on everything from bridge designs and computer language to studying engineering and 3D printing.  Link

STEM/English