Skip to main content

CURRICULUM SUBJECTS: Business

Subscription databases and search portals to support your research.

Australian eResources

Activity

Gamification

Statistics

General Marketing Resources

Marketing Teacher

Open source lessons covering basic marketing concepts, marketing plans, SWOT and PEST analysis and many other topics. 

Knowledge resource for business administration covering a range of marketing topics including market segmentation, product life cycle, and positioning.

 Tutorial explaining how to conduct a SWOT analysis created by experienced and qualified marketing teachers, tutors and trainers. Includes a free SWOT template.

Business case studies and resources created for business studies students based on real information and issues supplied by a range of companies.

Created by the International Business Center at Michigan State University (IBC), globalEDGE™ is a knowledge web-portal to information, insights, and learning resources on global business activities. 

 Online tutorial that will give you tips on finding Business and Management information from a range of internet sources including search engines, bibliographic databases, news and social media.

Know this has a list of virtual marketing dictionaries and glossaries. Provides detailed marketing information and educational materials that, in most cases, are freely available to site visitors. It includes tutorials that focus on key marketing concepts and functions. 

Market research resources including a glossary, case studies and research articles. It also has a discussion forum and webinars. 

Free monthly trend briefing published by an independent and opinionated trend firm which scans the globe for the most promising consumer trends, insights and related hands-on business ideas.

Statistics, case studies, interviews and reviews about successful small business owners and startupsInc. Magazine is also available through Business Source Premier.

Case Studies

Articles

FOR TEACHERS

eResources

Business, A-D

Online Dictionary of the Social Sciences
Canadian site, provided by ICAAP and Athabasca University. Entries are brief but adequate.
AccountingNet founded and maintained by accountants since 1996
AccountingCoach.com created by Harold Averkamp, who has worked as an accountant, a consultant, and a university accounting professor. He works to make as much of his site free of charge as possible; however any fees are the responsibility of the user.
Accounting Terminology Guide NY Society of CPA's
Accounting Glossary
AdCouncil.org
Choice Highly Recommended site; Marketing
American Accounting Association
Voluntary organization established in 1916 to promote accounting education, research, and professional development. The association's site provides a gateway into programs, services, documents, and conferences.
Advertising World
Ad*access
More than 7,000 digitized print ads 1911-1955.
AllBusiness.com
Choice Highly Recommended site; a comprehensive site; a product of Dun & Bradstreet; contains profiles of more than 14,000 companies in the US as well as articles, advice, and business tools on credit, careers, disaster planning, franchises, finance and accounting, taxation, green business, manufacturing, labor and employment, starting a business, and technology and law. Topics are thoroughly covered; ....videos, podcasts, book reviews, blogs, newsletters and Web tools make this a well-organized, functional site
Annual Reports Online
Provides information and guidance on how to access annual reports on the Internet; does not provide a global search engine, instead it provides The Annual Report Gallery A-Z Links
Baker Library Research Guides
Choice Highly Recommended site; Harvard School of Business Library
Biznar: Deep Web Business Search - beta
Uses a federated search technology from Deep Web Technologies, a supplier of custom federated search solutions, to facilitate searching for high-quality business resources. Biznar provides an informative self-guided tour that explains the details of the search process; as with some other business sites some searches supply only a free abstract and require payment for the full article. UT-Permian will not pay any fees associated with this site. Still in beta after several years of development.
Bplans.com
A .com site established to assist entrepreneurs by providing free advice and information.
See also Business Plan Guide from Navarro College and the US Small Business Development Center and focused specifically on Texas.
@Brint
Business, Technology, Knowledge Management
BSDglobal
This knowledge-based resource is a global guide to business and sustainable development (BSD)....This is a new product from the International Institute for Sustainable Development (IISD), a nonprofit group funded by the Canadian government,...The design makes navigation easy....Despite the possibility of some slant in its presentation, this well-designed resource is recommended for policy makers, businesspersons, and other professionals who want to enhance their understanding of sustainability issues and strategies...
Bureau of Labor Statistics: Economy at a Glance
Well-organized site; provides easily accessible and readable data on unemployment rates, average hourly earnings, consumer price index, and producer price index. Data available for the national level and 4 major regions, please each state and many metropolitan service areas (MSA). Updates occur anytime the BLS receives new data, typically numerous times each month. This is a useful quick overview.
Business & Human Rights Resource Centre
This exceptionally well-organized resource, whose subtitle reads "tracking the positive and negative impacts of over 4,000 companies worldwide," provides hourly updates on business ethics and human rights news and reports. The site is designed to make human rights abuses more apparent to the public and also serves as a one-stop center for information that would be difficult to find by other means....
Business.gov
Choice Highly Recommended site; .gov
Business and Commerce - EINet
 
Business Culture, Customs, & Etiquette
a .com site
Business Daily
One of the largest international news sites on the Internet, Business Daily provides a great overview of current business and economic news from around the globe. The Archivesection allows users to view news published on a particular day; also has video, radio and pictures that are accessible and downloadable directly from the site.
Business Data You Can Use
A .gov portal that presents the massive amounts of data contained in the US Census Bureau's Economic Census. Users should be aware that this site does not integrate information, such as foreign trade statistics, minority- and women-owed business, or demographic and labor statistics. For additional data users may want to consult other US Census Bureau sites, such as
Business and Industry Census  or
Industry Snapshots from the Economic Census  and
American FactFinder.
Business Filings Databases--Updated
The author a member of the State Bar of Texas, has created a simple page arranged in alphabetical order by state. Easy to navigate and quick to load.
Business History.com
by Kip Altman; Business History is an extensive online bibliography that provides citations, with descriptions, to biographies, industry histories, management books, business fiction, and books in various other categories (no article citations are included). Updated frequently, the site's twin focuses are business history and essential books on management, investing, and finance....At present a Google search tool allows users to search the voluminous content, but the results do not lead to specific citations....as it is currently organized--only for the advanced student
Business Plan Center
a .org site produced by Business Resource Software Inc. The Business Plan Samples section features award-winning plans including sample business plans entered in the Moot Corp Competition at the University of Texas at Austin. They are presented so others can view and learn from these sample plans; the ideas presented belong to their authors.
Business Plan Guide
Navarro College; Small Business Development Center; Created to address the needs of the Texas business community the site is particularly well organized and comprehensive. topic. The local flavor here is north Texas in particular and Texas in general, with comprehensive local information that supplements the broader content areas. The site also links to the SBA's Spanish-language site for those desiring content in that language--a particular plus for minority entrepreneurs.
Business Wire
Business Wire is a great resource for keeping up with breaking company and industry news. A subsidiary of the Warren Buffet-led holding company Berkshire Hathaway, the site makes its content available for free or through free registration. However, note that there are some additional fee-based services which are not supported by UTPB and if used would be the responsibility of the individual user.
CI Strategies & Tools
formerly a CHOICE Outstanding Academic Web Site; the tools provided here are very good, but like many web sites you must know register in order to gain access, and some materials now have fees attached. Note: UT-Permian Basin will not pay, and is not responsible for any fees generated by using this site.
CommerceNet
 
Current Industrial Reports
Manufacturing & Construction Division, US Census
Department of Commerce - US
 
Biz/Ed: Business Education
UK-based
Complete World Development Report Online
From the World Bank Group; The WBG Data section offers access to approximately 2,000 indicators in Arabic, English, French, and Spanish. Users may view data for The World at a Glance and by country, topic, and indicators.
Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ) : Law and Political Science
It is possible to search by journal title or browse by subject.

Business, E-I

EDGAR Database of Corporate Information
Electronic Commerce Guide
Entrepreneurship Corner
Choice Outstanding site; Stanford University; a wonderful free collection of more than 1,600 videos and podcasts related to entrepreneurship, innovation, product development, and other business topics.
Entrepreneur.com
Launched by Entrepreneur Media; this site contains original content, and current relevant resources related to starting and running a small business; easy to navigate, well organized and modern looking.
Entrepreneur's Reference Guide to Small Business Information
Compiled by Robert M. Jackson, business reference specialist at the Library of Congress, this guide includes several areas of entrepreneurship: "Getting Started," "Raising Capital," "Managing Your Business," "Human Resources," "Marketing: Research, Strategy, and Advertising," "Doing Business with Government," and "International Opportunities." The author includes valuable information about the research process and how to gather data and keep current. 
Ethics Resource Center
Choice Highly Recommended site; An informative Web site that offers commentary and research on ethical behavior in both the private and public sector. The fact that the ERC has been around for 85 years and is still considered a definitive resource for institutions and researches should also say something about the objectivity and quality of the information that ERC puts out. Well organized and easy to navigate, this site contains an abundance of free information, including downloadable research articles covering a wide array of ethical issues.
Ethisphere
A forum for Ethisphere Institute, an international think tank dedicated to the creation, advancement, and sharing of best practices in business ethics, corporate social responsibility, anti-corruption, and sustainability....The site is a refreshing resource since it offers examples and solutions that are already working for a number of companies
Everything International
Choice Outstanding site
Export.gov: Doing Business In Guides
Choice Highly Recommended site
Fast Company
 
Federal Deposit Insurance Corporation
Choice Outstanding site
Federation of Tax Administrators
Choice Highly Recommended site
Financial Crisis News Center
Developed and maintained by CCH publications, a major publisher of tax, legal and business information; provides news updates and links to information on the current financial crisis; site makes very good use of current technology; users can subscribe to the site via email or RSS feed.
FiNWeb Home Page
 
Financial Accounting Standards Board
IFRS : International Accounting Standards Board
Fortune 500 List 2011
now found on the CNNmoney.com site
Globalization 101
Choice Highly Recommended site
globalEDGE : Your Source for Global Business Knowledge
Choice Highly Recommended site; This sophisticated Web portal links to a wide range of information on international business. funded by Michigan State U and the US Dept of Education; the site provides a "human intelligence-based and expert-driven categorization of international business resources." Well-designed and easy to use, this site serves as a gateway to publicly available resources as well as to unique content from Michigan State.
inc.com
Choice Outstanding site; High quality, reliable articles on a wide variety of business topics
Institute for Business & Professional Ethics
Depaul University
International Data Base (IDB)
produced by the US Census Bureau; a computerized data bank containing statistical tables of demographic and socioeconomic data for 227 countries and areas of the world, many areas from 1950 forward
International Trade Centre
Choice Highly Recommended site
International Trade Web Resources
 
Investopedia.com
A Canadian-based free site devoted to investor education

Business J-Z

Knowledge@Wharton
Registration required for access to full-text materials; some fees may apply; UTPB will not pay any fees related to this site.
KM: Knowledge Management
set of links from C & R L News; Assn of College & Research Libraries
KnowThis.com: Marketing Virtual Library
MarketingCharts
published by Watershed Publishing staff in conjunction with staff responsible for a couple of the company's other online business publications; the major drawback to the site is the overly trendy, difficult to navigate home page; the site does contain free, downloadable marketing charts and spreadsheets, and they are all very current--nothing more than 3 months old--but the confusing design means users will have to dig to find what they want
National Retail Federation
Choice Highly Recommended site
North American Industry Classification System
NAICS was "developed jointly by the U.S., Canada and Mexico to provide new comparability in statistics about business activity across North America."
The Penn World Tables 6.2
Computing in the Humanities and Social Sciences, U of Toronto  Penn World Table provides purchasing power parity and national income accounts converted to international prices for 188 countries for some or all of the years 1950-2004. The European Union or the OECD provide more detailed purchasing power and real product estimates for their countries and the World Bank makes current price estimates for most PWT countries at the GDP level.  Data retrieval is fast and data are easy to read, but the site does not have a mechanism to export the data, or help screens for users.
PRARS: the Public Register's Annual Report Service
From Bay Tact Corporation, provides free annual reports, prospectuses, and 10Ks for public companies. See also Annual Reports Service above. For both services submission of an order to view the annual report means that users are consenting to their data being transferred to the provider of the selected annual report. 
Rutgers University Libraries: Research & Reference Gateway: Business
 
Securities and Exchange Commission (SEC)
 
Small Business Resources.gov
 
Tax & Accounting Sites Directory
 
Texas Business and Industry Data Center
 
THINK
IBM
Trendwatching.com
Choice Highly Recommended site
U.S. Small Business Administration
.gov
UNData.org
Choice Outstanding site
VIBES--Virtual International Business and Economic Sources
University of North Carolina - Charlotte
Wachowicz's Web Sites for Discerning Finance Students
University of Tennessee - Knoxville; Finance portal with links are more consistently up-to-date than other similar sites
Virtual Finance Library from Ohio State University
Originally tied to a specific course taught by a specific faculty member at Ohio State, the site has expanded to include materials for both undergraduates and graduates. Use it in combination with Wachowicz's Web World above
W. E. Upjohn Institute for Employment Research

ABC SPALSH : Visit a tech hub

Free Databases

eResources

Student Study Guide For Computer Applications - Overview

Commodities

Adforum

AdForum gathers information on 20,000 agencies and 120,000 TV, print and interactive campaigns. It includes an Agency Gallery of important creative work and a Creative Library that is used by industry professionals to prepare for client reviews and pitches, to brainstorm new ideas and other creative research/monitoring needs.

The Communications Council (Australia)

The Communications Council represents agencies in the Australian marketing communications industry. The Agency Resource Centre provides information and advice about intellectual property, advertising codes & regulations, pitching guidelines and client/agency agreements.

ARC Centre of Excellence for Creative Industries and Innovation

The centre carries out research into the role that creative industries and their contributing disciplines make to the Australian economy. Includes The Economy Report Card which provides a snapshot of key facts about Australia's creative sector. Includes a blog and presentations with information about social media and the impact that technology is having on creative industries like advertising.

Australian Association of National Advertisers (AANA)

The AANA represents the interests of organisations involved in Australia’s advertising, marketing and media industry. The association manages the industries self-regulatory system, including a set of voluntary Codes. Complaints under the Codes are adjudicated by the independent Advertising Standards Board (ASB) which is administratively supported by the Advertising Standards Bureau.

Association for Data-driven Marketing & Advertising (ADMA)

ADMA is the largest marketing body in Australia representing advertisers, marketers, telemarketing and production companies. Includes ADMA Code of Practice

B&T Marketing and Media

Information about the marketing, advertising, media and PR industries with analysis of industry trends 

Australian Competition and Consumer Commision

Information about Australian Consumer Law and the rules that apply to businesses when advertising or promoting products

Country Statistics

Interest Rates

Consumer Behaviour

Association for Consumer Research

ACR has a large archive of international conference proceedings and teaching resources on consumer research.

Consumer Behaviour: The Psychology of Marketing

An interdisciplinary site from the University of Southern California with links to articles and presentations on consumer psychology and behaviour and other marketing issues.

Advertising

Adforum

AdForum gathers information on 20,000 agencies and 120,000 TV, print and interactive campaigns. It includes an Agency Gallery of important creative work and a Creative Library that is used by industry professionals to prepare for client reviews and pitches, to brainstorm new ideas and other creative research/monitoring needs.

The Communications Council (Australia)

The Communications Council represents agencies in the Australian marketing communications industry. The Agency Resource Centre provides information and advice about intellectual property, advertising codes & regulations, pitching guidelines and client/agency agreements.

ARC Centre of Excellence for Creative Industries and Innovation

The centre carries out research into the role that creative industries and their contributing disciplines make to the Australian economy. Includes The Economy Report Card which provides a snapshot of key facts about Australia's creative sector. Includes a blog and presentations with information about social media and the impact that technology is having on creative industries like advertising.

Australian Association of National Advertisers (AANA)

The AANA represents the interests of organisations involved in Australia’s advertising, marketing and media industry. The association manages the industries self-regulatory system, including a set of voluntary Codes. Complaints under the Codes are adjudicated by the independent Advertising Standards Board (ASB) which is administratively supported by the Advertising Standards Bureau.

Association for Data-driven Marketing & Advertising (ADMA)

ADMA is the largest marketing body in Australia representing advertisers, marketers, telemarketing and production companies. Includes ADMA Code of Practice

B&T Marketing and Media

Information about the marketing, advertising, media and PR industries with analysis of industry trends 

Australian Competition and Consumer Commision

Information about Australian Consumer Law and the rules that apply to businesses when advertising or promoting products

Brands

  • Millward Brown  
     
    Millward Brown manages the annual BrandZ Top 100 Most Valuable Global Brands ranking. The study is conducted by Millward Brown Optimor to determine the financial value of consumer-facing brands. It is the only brand ranking to combine consumer measures of brand equity - from the Brand Dynamics studies in Millward Brown’s BrandZ database - with financial data
  • Superbrands - Australia's Greatest Brands  
     
    Superbrands publishes a series of brand-focused books and publications. Brands are invited to participate in the Superbrands project based on the following criteria: market dominance, longevity, goodwill, customer loyalty and market acceptancy.
  • Brand Finance
    Brand Finance is a global brand valuation consultancy. They advise strongly branded organisations on how to maximise their value through the effective management of their brands and intangible assets. Brand reports and league tables are based on detailed research into the world’s most valuable brands and other intangible assets. You will also find a range of new and insightful articles and thought leadership papers to help leverage the value of brand and other intangible assets into actionable results.
  • Brand Directory
    Brand Finance's league tables provide a point in time valuation of leading global, sector and regional brands enabling clients to track their brands' performance on an annual basis.
  • Interbrand
    Global branding consultancy which releases an annual ranking of the best global brands based on each brand's financial performance, role, and strength.