Skip to main content

CURRICULUM SUBJECTS: Research Skills

Subscription databases and search portals to support your research.

Tools for Research

Learning APA Style®

If you're just starting out, view these free tutorials on APA Style Basics, or the differences between the 5th and 6th editions.

Free Tutorials

Note Taking

RMIT : Note Taking

Online tutorial

Note Taking (Tutorial)
  Effective note taking is a skill that can save you a lot of time and help you to become a more efficient student. This online tutorial gives practical advice about how to use abbreviations and how to organise your information. It also provides visual models of  what good notes could look like.

Study tips

Note Taking for Reading (PDF 122KB)
  Note Taking for Lectures (PDF 239KB)

RMIT ASSESSMENT

DKFindOut!

How Do We Decide What to Believe?,

Domain names

One way to get a quick idea of who is sponsoring or publishing a website is to understand the domain name portion of the URL.

.com Commercial businesses and for-profit organisation.
.edu  Educational institutions including primary schools in many countries.
.net    Organisations directly involved in Internet operations.
.org   

Miscellaneous organisations that don't fit any other category, such as non-profit groups.

.gov   Any government organisations.
~ (tilde)   Web pages created independently by individuals.
country codes A two-letter international standard abbreviation such as ".de" for Germany or ".uk" for the United Kingdom.
 .ac.uk The .ac refers to "academic" and is used by United Kingdom universities.

Reading Skills

RMIT : Reading Skills

Videos

How Do I Read Efficiently?
  Students can be easily overwhelmed by the amount of reading they are required to do at university. Becoming an efficient reader can save you a lot of time and reduce stress. This short video gives you an overview of what makes an efficient reader and shows you how to become one yourself.

Online tutorial

Reading Skills (Tutorial)
  The online tutorial covers much of the same information but with more depth. Learn about skimming and scanning strategies as well as how to organise the information you have just read.

Study tips

Efficient Reading (PDF 80KB) 
  Critical Reading (PDF 210KB)
  Reading academic articles (PDF 143KB)

What Are Databases and Why You Need Them

Our Library has both EBSCO Host and World Book databases - available through the student portal.

What's an annotated bibliography?

Diigo V5.0: Collect, Highlight and Remember!

Why use more than one Search Engine?

  1. No two search engines are the same in terms of size, “freshness” (how often their own database is updated) and how search results are ranked, and not every search engine offers the same search features and options.
  2. Therefore, your search is going to retrieve and rank results differently on each individual search engine. The difference may not be great but it could be significant.
  3. There is surprisingly little overlap between search engine results. The same search terms entered into more than one search engine will often retrieve a high proportion of unique results from each.
  4. For these three reasons, it is recommended you use two, or perhaps three, different individual search engines to obtain comprehensive search results.

Top Ranked Search Engines: Google; Yahoo! Search; Ask.com/ Teoma

The Search Engine List

Exam Preparation

RMIT : Exam Preparation

Online tutorial

Exam Preparation (Tutorial)
  Some students are afraid of exams or simply do not prepare well.enough for them. This tutorial shows you how to go through the process of revision, how to structure study blocks, and organise information. It also provides useful exam techniques. 

Study tips

Exam Preparation (PDF 114KB)

Information literacy - research skills