Skip to main content

History: Middle Ages

History

Middle Ages eResources

See Also : SPCC Libguide "Movers and Shakers" under the RE page for information on Emperor Constantine.

Don't forget to use the online World Book Encyclopedia and EBSCO Databases on the Student Portal!

Useful subject headings to research:

Feudalism
Middle Ages
Cities and towns, Medieval.
Civilization, Medieval.
City and town life -- Europe.
Europe -- Economic conditions -- To 1492.
Europe -- Social life and customs.
Technology -- History.
Inventions -- History.
Science -- History.

eTools

eResources

National Geographic documentary

Worst Jobs in History: Leech Collector

Plague Doctor mask.

The wars that inspired Game of Thrones - Alex Gendler

Ceremonial (archeaology)

Online Articles

Christianity from Judaism to Constantine: Crash Course World History #11

What is Magna Carta?

The Magna Carta (originally known as the Charter of Liberties) of 1215, written in iron gall ink on parchment in medieval Latin, using standard abbreviations of the period, authenticated with the Great Seal of King John. The original wax seal was lost over the centuries. This document is held at the British Library and is identified as "British Library Cotton MS Augustus II.106". Image source: Public Domain

eResources

Dr. Susanna Throop, "What were the crusades? (1 of 4)," in Smarthistory, August 8, 2015, accessed May 5, 2016, http://smarthistory.org/what-were-the-crusades-1-of-4/.

Dr. Susanna Throop, "The impact of the crusades (4 of 4)," in Smarthistory, August 8, 2015, accessed May 5, 2016, http://smarthistory.org/the-impact-of-the-crusades-4-of-4/.

The J. Paul Getty Museum, "Chivalry in the Middle Ages," in Smarthistory, December 21, 2015, accessed May 5, 2016, http://smarthistory.org/chivalry-in-the-middle-ages/.

Guided by the detailed and often humorous images of everyday life from the Luttrell Psalter, the Luttrell Psalter Film gives a unique glimpse of a year in the life of a medieval village

The Past, Present and Future of the Bubonic Plague

TED TALK

Black Death's Spread

Click on image to go to SOURCE

Coroner's Report: Plague

Source

Sources : 

Life in a Christian Monastery, ca. 585
"When he was dead his body was not placed with the bodies of the brethren, but a grave was dug in the dung pit, and his body was flung down into it. . . " Crime and punishment in a medieval monastery: the monastery's Abbott provides insight into the monastic life.

  Invasion of England, 1066
The Norman conquest of Anglo-Saxon England described through the images of the 900 year-old Bayeux Tapestry.

 Anarchy in 12th Century England
The Anglo-Saxon Chronicle paints a sobering picture of life in 12th century England that contrasts strikingly with Hollywood's image of the Middle Ages.

 

 The Crusaders Capture Jerusalem, 1099
The assault and capture of the Christian "Navel of the World"

 Richard The Lionheart Massacres The Saracens, 1191
Atrocity during the 3rd Crusade.

  Battling the Saracens, 1250
“I gave him a thrust with my lance just under the arm-pits and struck him dead.” A knight describes combat in the Seventh Crusade.

 

 A Medieval Murder, 1300
“The said Reymund struck her with his foot under the navel so that she fell.” The Sheriff of London investigates a murder.

 The Black Death, 1348
"No doctor's advice, no medicine could overcome or alleviate this disease." The deadly Plague invades Florence, Italy.

 The Flagellants Attempt to Repel the Black Death, 1349
"Each had in his right hand a scourge with three tails." Religious zealots of the Middle Ages resort to extreme measures in an attempt to thwart the onslaught of the Plague

Brought Before the Inquisition, 1573 •
"Do you know the reasons why you have been called here?" The Inquisition summons a Venetian painter to defend his art.

Black Death : "Hollaback Girl" by Gwen Stefani)

Feudal Japan

medieval mill

Databases

British Library

The British Library serves business and industry, researchers, academics and students, in the UK and world-wide
  • Europeana
    A single access point to millions of books, paintings, films, museum objects and archival records that have been digitised throughout Europe.
  • Google Cultural Institute
    Discover exhibits and collections from museums and archives all around the world. Explore cultural treasures in extraordinary detail, from hidden gems to masterpieces.
  • Internet History Sourcebook
    The Internet History Sourcebooks Project is a collection of public domain and copy-permitted historical texts presented for educational use.
  • History Database
    World History in Context offers students and researchers access to a broad collection of scholarly analysis and full-text periodicals, reference works and primary documents,
    To log in from home, use your Trinity ID and password e.g. jcitizen.2021@trinity.nsw.edu.au

eResources Black Death

CLICKVIEW : BLACK DEATH - password requird to view videos or access support resources

What is the Black Death?

The outbreak of the Black Death in the 14th century decimated populations across Europe, Asia and Africa. This program looks at: the symptoms of the disease, how it was caused and transmitted, and the role poor living conditions and a lack of medical knowledge played in its fast and far reaching spread. Prevailing and sometimes bizarre beliefs about its causes and cures are discussed in this stylised and at times gruesome presentation which is sure to capture viewer attention.

Impact of the Black Death

Spread of the Black Death

 

 

Early Music History: Middle Ages pt 1

Weapons of the Middle Ages

Medieval History Games and Animations

Big History Project