Skip to main content

History: 1967 Referendum

History

Resources

TROVE Find and get over 446,801,080 Australian and online resources:  books, images, historic newspapers, maps, music, archives and more

eResources

Freedom Riders

Aboriginal elder Gary Williams remembers the referendum

The Stolen Generation

Speech about breeding out the aboriginal.

eResources

Records about Indigenous Australians | National Archives of Australia

Date range: 19th-20th Centuries
Geographical focus: Australia
The National Archives hold a lot of relevant material for Indigenous Australia, particularly administrative records. Not all records provide access to the full item.

Guides and Indexes for Aboriginal History | State Records of SA

Date range: 19th-20th Centuries
Geographical focus: Australia
Information on accessing guides to Indigenous records at the State Records of SA, as well as some examples of the types of records held and information from exhibits.

The Koori History Website

Date range: 20th Century
Geographical focus: Australia
"information on Black Australia's 240 year struggle for justice". Primary sources relating to Indigenous history in Australia, including film clips, newspaper cuttings and images.

AIATSIS

Date range: 20th Century
Geographical focus: Australia
The 'featured collections' on the Australian Institute of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Studies website collect primary source materials related to Missions, war, reconciliation and Indigenous rights. Includes the Koori Mail Online.

Collaborating for Indigenous Rights 1957–1973 | National Museum Australia

Date range: 1930-1979
Geographical focus: Australia
Primary sources and historical material relating to movements for Indigenous civil and land rights in Australia. Includes photographs, Government documents and documents created by rights activists.

Marnti warajanga: A walk together | Museum of Australian Democracy

Date range: 20th-21st Centuries
Geographical focus: Australia
An online exhibition presenting a "collaboration between the Museum of Australian Democracy at Old Parliament House, Wangka Maya Pilbara Aboriginal Language Centre and photographer Tobias Titz." Includes interviews with Indigenous Australians in the Pilbara area.

What are the universal human rights? - Benedetta Bert

eResources

Biographies

ABC SPALSH : DIGIBOOKS