Skip to main content

History: World War 2

History

Reference

Nazis and the Jews

Ghettos

Women in World War II

Children in Nazi Germany

The Roma/Gypsies of Europe

The ALLIES

SINGAPORE

Articles

ABC SPLASH : DIGIBOOKS

Metal Stamps to Tattoo Nazi Prisoners

Metal stamps were used to tattoo prisoners at the Auschwitz concentration camp during the early days of the holocaust .

Full article link : HERE

 

eResources

Mt Holyoke documents relating to World War II

Date range: 20th century
Geographical focus: Europe
Links to documents relating to WWII in chronological order. Some links broken, mostly to to Avalon Project WWII documents.

Nazi Germany documents | Alpha History

Date range: 1914-1941
Geographical focus: Germany
English language. A collection of documents and documentary extracts relating to the Nazi party's views, policies and rise to power.

Before the Holocaust: Concentration camps in Germany, 1933-1939

Date range: 1930s
Geographical focus: Germany
Provides English translations of German documents relating to pre-war concentration camps in Germany.

Second World War, 1939–45 | Australian War Memorial

Date range: 1939-1945
Geographical focus: Australia
A brief introduction to the Second World War, with links to Second World War resources in the collection.

United States Holocaust Museum

Date range: 1933-1945
Geographical focus: Europe, US
Information on the Holocaust in Germany and its occupied territories during WWII, with an emphasis on the lives of individual Jewish Holocaust victims. The Holocaust material also has more material on genocide. Articles, music, video, oral histories and images.

A Teacher's Guide to the Holocaust

Date range: 1930s-1940s
Geographical focus: Germany
Documents relating to the Holocaust, featuring Nazi party documents, speeches by Hitler, treaties and documents from the Nuremberg Trials.

The Nizkor Project

Date range: 1930s-1940s
Geographical focus: Europe
Information on the Holocaust, focusing on concentration camps and prominent Nazi figures. Links to writings and photos of prominent Nazi figures.

Yad Vashem digital collections

Date range: 1930s-1945
Geographical focus: Europe
The digital collections of Yad Vashem, the Israeli Holocaust remembrance museum. The collections include survivor testimonies;photographs and names registered on Pages of Testimony.

Women and the Holocaust

Date range: 1930s-1945
Geographical focus: Europe
A site dedicated to women in the Holocaust, including personal reflections and writings of women who were affected by the Holocaust.

Australian Women in World War II

Pat survived the Vyner Brook then became a POW for 42 months. There are 7 parts. 2 minutes into Part 4 and continuing into Part 5 Pat talks about daily life in the camp.

Germany

German History in Documents and Images

Date range: 1500-present
Geographical focus: Germany
"a comprehensive collection of primary source materials documenting Germany's political, social, and cultural history from 1500 to the present. It comprises original German texts, all of which are accompanied by new English translations, and a wide range of visual imagery"

German history sources

Date range: 18th Century - present
Geographical focus: Germany
English language. A chronological list linking out to primary sources on the web.

Weimar Republic primary sources

Date range: 1914-1933
Geographical focus: German
English language. A small selection of primary sources (with accompanying information) on the culture, economics, politics and society of Germany between WWI and the Nazi's rise to power.

Mein Kampf

Date range: 1925
Geographical focus: Germany
A free online English translation of Hitler's book Mein Kampf.

Nazi Germany documents | Alpha History

Date range: 1914-1941
Geographical focus: Germany
English language. A collection of documents and documentary extracts relating to the Nazi party's views, policies and rise to power.

Before the Holocaust: Concentration camps in Germany, 1933-1939

Date range: 1930s
Geographical focus: Germany
Provides English translations of German documents relating to pre-war concentration camps in Germany.

German Propaganda Archive

Date range: 1920s-1980s
Geographical focus: Germany
English language. Contains propaganda material from Nazi Germany and the German Democratic Republic (East Germany) as well as "material for the guidance of propagandists".

Bombing of Darwin

Defending the North

The Atom Strikes - 1945 Atomic Weapons and WW2 Bombing of Hiroshima & Nagasaki

Milne Bay - Battle for Australia

WW2 bombing aftermath - Darwin, Northern Territory

This is an armband worn by Polish civilian Marian Szczepanowski when he was imprisoned in 1944 at Germany's Sachsenhausen Concentration Camp north of Berlin.

This is an armband worn by Polish civilian Marian Szczepanowski when he was imprisoned in 1944 at Germany's Sachsenhausen Concentration Camp north of Berlin. It is a white armband with the number 89480 printed in black and there is an inverted red triangle to the left of the number. The cloth is worn and stained and measures 27 cm x 5 cm.

'The new order', 1942

This painting by Noel Counihan shows five soldiers with rifles who have just executed civilians against a wall and are slouching away with their helmeted heads lowered. To the right stands a soldier who must have given the order to fire. He is looking down at an old man with a white beard and a younger woman with blood on her chest and her head thrown back. It is night, but light shining on the victims accentuates the contrast between their white and yellow clothes and the soldiers' dark uniforms. The painting is 61.7 cm x 80.1 cm.

Impact of World War 2 on the Australian Homefront

War: Censorship and Propaganda

Concise article describing the reasons for censorship controls, how these were structured and implemented throughout Australia during World War2.

Rationing of Food and Clothing During the Second World War

Wartime internment camps in Australia

In the interests of national security the Australian Government interned thousands of men, women and children during World War I and World War II. Most of those interned were classed as 'enemy aliens', that is, nationals of countries at war with Australia. Internees were accommodated in camps around Australia, often in remote locations

Behind the Wire

Americans in Australia

The British Prime Minister Winston Churchill made it clear that, if forced to choose, he would use English troops and equipment to defend England itself, rather than helping to protect Australia against the Japanese in the Pacific. The Australian Prime Minister John Curtin then called on America for help.
  • Americans
    One of the most severe tests of the Australian public in war was the presence of large numbers of United States troops in transit through Australia to various war fronts. These troops had three major impacts on Australian life
  • All In: Yanks Downunder
    Almost 1 million American service personnel, including about 100,000 African-Americans, passed through Australia during World War II. American troops started arriving in Australia in December 1941 and during the next four years they became a continuous presence in Australian life.
  • Battle of Brisbane
    The Battle of Brisbane was two nights of rioting between United States (U.S.) military personnel on one side and Australian servicemen and civilians on the other, in Brisbane, Australia on 26–27 November 1942, during World War II, during which time the two nations were allies. By the time the violence had been quelled, one Australian soldier was dead, and hundreds of Australians and U.S. servicemen had been injured.News reports of these incidents were suppressed due to the war.
  • Secret documents lift lid on WWII mutiny by US troops in north Queensland
    An Australian historian has uncovered hidden documents which reveal that African American troops used machine guns to attack their white officers in a siege on a US base in north Queensland in 1942.
  • New Beginnings:War Brides
    see the section on brides of American servicemen

Conscription and Manpower Controls

  • Conscription During World War 2
    The Scullin Labor government 1929-32 abolished compulsory military training so, on the outbreak of the Second World War in September 1939 the conservative government, led by Robert Menzies, chose to reintroduce the measure.
  • Conscription Debate WW2
    During World War I (1914 to 1918), Australians had been divided over the question of conscription: should the government have the power to force its citizens into military service? After the enormous death toll of World War I, a majority of Australians believed that men should not be forced to fight in foreign wars.
  • Conscription
    Conscription, compulsory military service for young men, has been a contentious issue throughout Australia's history

Australia

World War Two 1939-1945

Sources:

The Beginning of World War II, 1939
"What now?' asked Hitler with a savage look..." Hitler's interpreter describes the reaction of the Fuhrer and his henchmen to an ultimatum from Britain and the beginning of World War II.

 London Goes to War, 1939
Prime Minister Chamberlain's radio announcement of war was made at 11:15 AM - the air raid sirens began wailing at 11:27.

 

 Attack at Pearl Harbor Attack At Pearl Harbor, 1941.
". . .a terrible explosion caused the ship to shake violently." Aboard the USS Arizona during the attack.

 Attack At Pearl Harbor - the Japanese View
"Suprise attack succesful!" The leader of the air attack describes the view from his cockpit.

 Attack At Pearl Harbor - the White House Reaction
"My God, there's another wave of Jap planes over Hawaii right this minute." The attack stuns the White House.

 The Bataan Death March, 1942
"The bodies were left where they lay" - an eyewitness account of Japanese brutality during the forced-march of American prisoners into captivity after their surrender in the Philippines.

 Loose Lips Sink Ships "Loose Lips Sink Ships"
Advice to GIs on what to say and not say when writing home, carrying on a conversation, or if captured during World War II.

 

 

Inside a Nazi Death Camp, 1944
"It looked singularly harmless." A reporter describes the first Death Camp liberated by Allied troops.

The Forced Suicide of Field Marshall Rommel, 1944
"I shall be dead in a quarter of an hour." Hitler forces his "favorite General" to take his own life.

Kamikaze Attack, 1944
"It was a fight to the finish." Aboard a US cruiser as it experiences the first attack by the most dreaded Japanese weapon

 

The Tokyo Fire Raids, 1945
"Hell could be no hotter." In March 1945 The U.S. began an air campaign designed to obliterate the Japanese cities with fire. The first target was Tokyo and the results more devastating than the later atomic bomb attacks. Join an eyewitness on the ground.

 The Battle of Berlin, 1945
"Throughout the night, we huddled together in mortal fear, not knowing what the morning might bring. " A Berlin women describes the final days of the Nazi capital.

 The War Ends in Europe, 1945
" 'The war is over!' I was crying in the foxhole from joy, I couldn't believe it." A soldier's story of the end of the war and his return home.

Germany in Defeat, 1945
"White flags were hanging out of windows in villages we passed on the way..." A tour of Germany days after its surrender.

 The First Atomic Blast, 1945
"We were reaching into the unknown and we did not know what might come of it.

 The Bombing of Hiroshima, 1945
"Suddenly there was a strong flash of light..."

Audio

Hiroshima, 1945
Col. Paul Tibbets describes dropping the A-Bomb on Hiroshima, 1945.

 

 

 Tokyo Rose, 1944
"Tokyo Rose" broadcasts to American troops in the Pacific.

 Lord Haw Haw, 1945
The last broadcast of the German propagandist.

 

WWII for Australia

WW2 bombing aftermath - Darwin, Northern Territory

New Guinea

The Kokoda Trail

JAPAN

Surviving Hiroshima’s Atomic Bomb

I am Junko Morimoto.

I now live in Sydney, but I was born and brought up in Hiroshima.

When the bomb exploded on the morning of August 6 1945, I was a 13-year-old schoolgirl.

I lived 1.7 kilometres away from where the bomb fell.

SBS Interactive link here

USA