Skip to main content

History: Ancient Greece

History

eResources

Philosophies and Systems

Democracy: Topic Page

  • Skepticism: Topic Page
  • Stoicism: Topic Page

eResources

Ancient Greece: Topic Page

  • Delian League: Topic Page
  • Eleusinian mysteries: Topic Page
  • Greek architecture: Topic Page
  • Greek art: Topic Page
  • Olympic games: Topic Page
  • Tragedy: Topic Page

Peloponnesian War: Topic Page

  • Trojan War: Topic Page

Ancient Greece

  • Odysseus
  • Theoi Greek Mythology
  • The Ancient Olympics
  • The Greco-Persian Wars

Bronze Age Greece: Minoans or Mycenaeans, 2000 – 1100 BC

Archaic Greece, 900 – 600 BC

Athens, 490 – 445 BC

Athens, Sparta and the Peloponnesian War, 435 – 404 BC

Ancient Greek Archaeological Sites

Aigai

What the Ancients Knew

We know we’re meant to think that Ancient Greece was a cradle of civilisation; but what exactly did the Greeks contribute to humanity? Here is a list of some of their greatest and most relevant achievements.

Sources

Primary Sources

Greek and Roman Materials - Perseus Tufts

This website provides a plethora of ancient texts, many in the original languages, along with English Translations.

 

Ancient Greece - Ancient History Sourcebook

Fordham University provides a list of links to online primary sources from the classical era.

 

The British Museum

Search the museum's extensive artefact collection based upon:
Culture and Time Period

Famous Historical People

 

National Archaeological Museum of Athens

The National Archaeological Museum of Athens is the largest archaeological museum in Greece and one of the most important museums in the world devoted to ancient Greek art.

Attic Inscriptions Online

This is a website which publishes the inscriptions of ancient Athens and Attica in English translation. The translations include, as a minimum, an indication of the text translated, the name of the translator and key references. Further information about the inscriptions, including historical notes, is being added gradually.

Secondary Sources

EBSCO Host and World Book Online available through the student portal

    

Ancient Greece - History of the Ancient World

A website that offers academic and popular articles about the Ancient World.

Ancient Greece Flipboard Magazine

A collection of online articles and news reports about ancient Greece.

Please Note: Some internet browsers do not handle the Flipboard website very well, and it is sometimes better to have the Flipboard App on your device to view the magazine.

 

Google Scholar

This searches internet sites for academic articles and books. It often only provides one or two pages, but it is often enough to find quotes and bibliographical details.

 

JURN Search Engine

Search millions of free academic articles, chapters, and theses. 

Alexander the Great

Primary Sources

Greek and Roman Materials - Perseus Tufts

This website provides a plethora of ancient texts, many in the original languages, along with English Translations.

 

 

Hellenistic World - Ancient History Sourcebook

Fordham University provides a list of links to online primary sources from the classical era.

 

 

Hellenistic Greek - The British Museum

Search the museum's extensive artefact collection based upon:
Culture and Time Period

Famous Historical People

Secondary Sources

Alexander the Great - History of the Ancient World

A website that offers academic and popular articles about the Ancient World.

Ancient Greece Flipboard Magazine

A collection of online articles and news reports about ancient Greece.

Please Note: Some internet browsers do not handle the Flipboard website very well, and it is sometimes better to have the Flipboard App on your device to view the magazine.

 

Google Scholar

This searches internet sites for academic articles and books. It often only provides one or two pages, but it is often enough to find quotes and bibliographical details.

 

JURN Search Engine

Search millions of free academic articles, chapters, and theses. 

The Athenian Agora and Acropolis, 514 – 399 BC

TED-Ed

eResources

Personalities

Alcibiades (BCE 450 - 404): Topic Page

  • Alexander the Great (BCE 356 - 323): Topic Page

  • Archimedes (BCE 287 - 212): Topic Page

  • Aristophanes (BCE 448 - 388): Topic Page

  • Aristotle (BCE 384 - 322): Topic Page

  • Democritus (BCE 460 - 370): Topic Page

  • Diadochi: Topic Page

  • Epicurus (BCE 341 - 270): Topic Page

  • Euclid (BCE 4th Century): Topic Page

  • Euripides (BCE 485 - 406): Topic Page

  • Herodotus (BCE 485 - 425): Topic Page

  • Homer (BCE 8th Century): Topic Page

  • Pericles (BCE 495 - 429): Topic Page

  • Plato (BCE 427 - 347): Topic Page

  • Praxiteles (BCE 370 - 330): Topic Page

  • Pythagoras (BCE 582 - 507): Topic Page

  • Sappho (BCE 7th Century): Topic Page

  • Socrates (BCE 469 - 399): Topic Page

  • Sophocles: (BCE 496 - 406) Topic Page

  • Xenophon (BCE 430 - 355): Topic Page

Women and Gender