Skip to main content

History: Ancient Mesopotamia

History

eResource

  • University of Chicago:
    Compiled information from the University of Chicago about the ancient Mesopotamia, including archaeology, farming, the role of women, literature, mathematics and measurement, art and architecture, prehistory, the first cities, religion, the invention of writing, law and government, science and inventions, and warfare.
  • Ancient History Encyclopedia
    Explores Mesopotamia as the cradle of civilization, includes detailed information on learning and religion, jobs/roles, buildings and government, legacy and history by age.
  • The British Museum
    An interactive map of Assyria, Babylonia, and Sumer.
  • Live Science
    An exploratin of ancient Babylon, its early beginnings, the empire of Hammurabi, the law code of Hammurabi, the Kassite period, wars with Assyria and Elam, Nebuchadnezzar II, Ishtar Gate, the Tower of Babel, and more.
  • Mr. Giotto
    A summary of information on ancient Mesopotamia divided into multiple sections: the Sumerians, Babylon & Assyria, and the Neo-Babylonia empire and the Hebrews.

Across Curriculum

Ancient Mesopotamia Sources

Primary Sources

Ancient Mesopotamia - Ancient History Sourcebook

Fordham University provides a list of links to online primary sources from the classical era.

 

The British Museum

Search the museum's extensive artefact collection based upon:
Culture and Time Period

Famous Historical People

Cuneiform Digital Library Initiative

Provides links to all of the museums and universities around the world that contain cuneiform artefacts. Most links provide translations of the artefacts.

ETANA

The ETANA website is a searchable database of artefacts from across the Ancient Near East.

Secondary Sources

  EBSCO and World Book databases available through the Student Portal

 

Ancient Mesopotamia Flipboard Magazine

A collection of online articles and news reports about ancient Mesopotamia.

Please Note: Some internet browsers do not handle the Flipboard website very well, and it is sometimes better to have the Flipboard App on your device to view the magazine.

 

Google Scholar

This searches internet sites for academic articles and books. It often only provides one or two pages, but it is often enough to find quotes and bibliographical details.

 

JURN Search Engine

Search millions of free academic articles, chapters, and theses. 

Events

Persian wars: Topic Page

  • Trojan War: Topic Page
  • Peloponnesian War: Topic Page

People

rus the Great: Topic Page

  • Darius I (BCE 521 - 486): Topic Page
  • Galatians
  • Hammurabi: Topic Page
  • Hittites: Topic Page
  • Mithradates VI (BCE 131 - 63): Topic Page
  • Nebuchadnezzar (BCE 605 - 562)

Terms and Concepts

High places

  • Creation myth
  • Sumerian Religion
  • Cuneiform: Topic Page
  • Gilgamesh
  • Ziggurat
  • Zoroastrianism

Credo

Babylonia: Topic Page

  • Euphrates River: Topic Page
  • Hanging Gardens of Babylon
  • Jerusalem: Topic Page
  • Mesopotamia: Topic Page
  • Petra: Topic Page
  • Phoenicia: Topic Page
  • Red Sea: Topic Page
  • Sumer: Topic Page
  • Tigris River: Topic Page
  • Ugarit: Topic Page
  • Asia Minor: Topic Page
  • Assyria: Topic Page
  • Cappadocia: Topic Page
  • Cyprus: Topic Page
  • Persia: Topic Page
  • Rhodes: Topic Page
  • Troy: Topic Page