Skip to main content

History: Peace

History

Peace Associations/Foundations/Networks/Societies

Children and War Foundation

Free manuals and instruments for use in measuring the effects of war, disaster and trauma on children.
  • Globethics.net
    A global network of persons and institutions interested in various fields of applied ethics. It offers access to a large number resources on ethics, especially through its leading global digital ethics library (free to register).
  • International Peace Research Association (IPRA)
    A network of scholars, practitioners and decision-makers from all continents, pursuing interdisciplinary research into the most pressing issues related to sustainable peace around the world today.

Peace Research Institutes & Institutions : Peace and Conflict

Australian Centre for Peace and Conflict Studies (ACPACS)

Program in the Institute for Social Science Research (ISSR) at the University of Queensland conducting research in the theory and practice of peace-building and conflict resolution.

Conflict Resolution Information Source (CRInfo)

(pronounced "See Our Info") a keyword-coded catalogue of over 20,000 Web, print, and organizational resources. Includes event listings and other conflict resolution-related resources.
  • Conflict Transformation and Peacebuilding: a Selected Bibliography
    A starting place for research on conflict resolution, alternative dispute resolution, peace building or peace studies.
  • DagDok: Guide to UN Documentation
    Designed for students and scholars with an interest in United Nations documentation, DagDok presents an overview of the various types of documents and publications issued by the United Nations and provides guidance on how to work with them, linking you to the official webpages of the United Nations.
  • Europa World
    An online reference work covering political and economic information for more than 250 countries and territories. The Library's subscription also includes access to the Far East and Australasia Regional Survey.
  • Global Peace Index
    The Global Peace Index ranks the nations of the world by their peacefulness ( ‘absence of violence’) using metrics that combine both internal and external factors.
  • Globethics.net
    A global network of persons and institutions interested in various fields of applied ethics. It offers access to a large number resources on ethics, especially through its leading global digital ethics library (free to register).
  • Human Security Gateway
    A research and information database regrouping electronic and bibliographic resources on human security published by university research institutes, think-tanks, IGOs and NGOs.
  • International Crisis Group (ICG)
    An international, non-profit, non-governmental source of analysis and advice to governments, and intergovernmental bodies on the prevention and resolution of deadly conflict.
  • OECD iLibrary
    The Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development's full text library of statistical databases, books and journals.
  • OECD: Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development
    Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development.
  • Peace Accords Matrix
    Compare and analyse peace agreements worldwide (since 1989). Compare accords by location (region or country) or by topic. Also includes a glossary with definitions of terms used in agreements.
  • United Nations (UN)
    For an overview of the types of documents and publications issued by the UN, and guidance on how to find and work with them, see DagDok (above).
  • United Nations Peacemaker
    (requires users to register then login). Includes Peace Agreements, Peace Agreement Summaries, Literature on peacemaking issues, an extensive Legal Library, as well as links to Research Centres and other useful resources.
  • United Nations Treaty Collection
    Full-text access to all treaties and international agreements entered into by any member of the United Nations.
  • Uppsala Conflict Data Program (UCDP) Database
    Provides in-depth information on minor armed conflicts and wars 1989-2007; on non-state conflicts 2002-2007, one-sided violence 1989-2007, preventive efforts 1993-2004 and peace agreements 1989-2007. A country description gives the user an overview on conflicts from 1946.
  • World Bank
    High quality statistical data, research outputs, information and analysis on global trends in the world economy.
  • World Development Indicators (WDI) & Global Development Finance (GDF)
    World Development Indicators (WDI) is the primary World Bank database for development data from officially-recognized international sources. Global Development Finance (GDF) provides external debt and financial flows statistics for countries that report public debt under the World Bank's Debtor Reporting System (DRS).
  • World Trade Organization (WTO)
    World Trade Organization (WTO) deals with the rules of trade between nations at a global or near-global level.

Interactive Wayback Machine