Skip to main content

ART: Home

Resources

Australian eResources

7 Elements of Art

Articles

Edvard Munch's portrait of philosopher Friedrich Nietzsche

Cecil Beaton and Jackson Pollock

YouTube channels

Use these video clips to help you with your research.

  • Art 21
    Art 21 is considered one of the best YouTube channels on art. There are loads of videos to explore on all forms of visual art.
  • Art of the Western World
    A whole series about art of the western world, beginning with this episode, the Greeks.
  • Mark Crilley
    Another top-ranking YouTube channel, Mark Crilley's site gives excellent instruction on how to draw across a range of styles.
  • Eclectic Asylum Art
    Eclectic portraits created with a range of materials.
  • Sycra
    Sycra's videos are designed to ' inspire, instruct, and entertain'.
  • Ctrl+Paint
     
  • Will Terrell
    Will Terrell is a storyboard artist, illustrator and comic book creator. This channel displays some of his amazing talent.
  • TATE Museum
    Video clips from the Tate Museum in London

Books in our LIbrary

The creative habit : learn it and use it for life : a practical guide  /  Twyla Tharp ; with Mark Reiter.

COLLECTION : S.T.E.A.M  Classification S 153 THA

The Creative License: Giving yourself permission to be the artist you truly are  /  GREGORY. Danny

COLLECTION : S.T.E.A.M  Classification S 741 GRE

How to be an explorer of the world : portable life museum  /  Keri Smith.  (2011)

COLLECTION : S.T.E.A.M  Classification S 153 SMI

Show your work! 10 ways to share your creativity and get discovered  /  KLEON, Austin  (2014)

COLLECTION : S.T.E.A.M  Classification  S 650 KLE

 

Google Cultural Institute: How To Use the Site

Why is this painting so captivating? - James Earle and Christina Bozsik

eTools

Reference

Word bank for art terms- help to develop the students and their grasp of academic language.

The information on these websites cover art movements, particular exhibits, and timelines.

Talking about Art

Lynda Barry’s Syllabus: An Illustrated Field Guide to Keeping a Visual Diary

and Cultivating the Capacity for Creative Observation

How to master the infinitely rewarding art of “being present and seeing what’s there.”

Khan Academy : ART HISTORY

Art with Mati & Dada

Art with Mati and Dada is an animated series co-produced by the Italian production company Achtoons and Rai Fiction, the production arm of the Italian Pubcast. 

Link : https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCR2NlUr0yPuqRxZN_7ItHog/videos

Useful websites for Visual Arts

Use these websites to help you with your research.

  • Art Almanac
    Australia's monthly briefing on art.
  • Visual Art Teacher
    Blog by Scott Avery (TAFE Qld Brisbane, South Bank campus)
  • Google Art Project
    The Art Project is a collaboration between Google and some of the world’s most acclaimed and diverse art institutions. You can now explore art collections from around the world, view artworks at incredible zoom levels and create your own gallery.
  • Design & Art Australia Online
    Design and Art Australia Online (DAAO) is an open source freely accessible scholarly e-Research tool that presents biographical data about Australian artists, designers, craftspeople and curators.
  • Artcyclopedia
    This website provides links to to online images of works by artists whose works have been collected by museums.
  • Art - Stuff
    Visual arts resources, ideas, tips, techniques, options and stratgies for artist and student alike.
  • Art21
    Information and programs devoted to the exploration of contemporary art and artists - includes reviews of artists, blogs, industry information and film from the Art in the 21st Century series
  • Art Babble
    Video and discussions covering a broad spectrum of art forms across the world
  • ArtsHub
    Jobs and news from the Australian arts industry
  • BBC Arts and Culture
    News from the arts and culture sphere, with accompanying video and audio.
  • Illustration Friday
    Website featuring a weekly challenge for illustrators
  • Art & design education resource guide: what to study, where to study.
    A comprehensive guide to art and design courses at universities, TAFE colleges, and private schools in Australia and New Zealand and selected colleges in South East Asia.
  • Art history resources
    Vast number of links to art history resources on the web. This is part of the home page for the Fine Arts department at Sweet Briar College in Virginia. Very extensive list of art images.
  • Design & Art Australia online
    Dictionary of Australian artists
  • Modern and contemporary artists
    Sculpture, painting, installation artists, print, performance, photography, collage and multimedia and digital artists. The current, the famous, established and emerging artists since 1900, with links to webresources with images of their work, comprehensive biographies and articles, and if it exists, the artist‘s personal website

ART CHANNELS

Art History Resource - Many Videos
National Film Board Canada - Many Films & Animation
Art Talks at Ted.com - Many Videos
Art History Videos - Several (Tice Art) Animated.
Khan Academy Art Channel
Art Documentaries (All under 16 minutes)
Aaron's Art Tips - Disney Professional's Advice. (Mostly Photoshop Tips) (MS/HS)
Origami Channel - Paper-folding AND some geometry videos
Animation (Process Oriented - how to)
The Daily Monster (Great idea for a quick exploration)
KQED (Elements & More)
Seb Lester Calligraphy
50 full length Art related movies free on Youtube. (NOT ALL are appropriate for all ages TEACHER  PREVIEW!)
Art Project Videos From PBS

Color: Elementary
Lines: Song - Elementary
9 Composition Tips (Photography but can be applied to 2D art)
Science of Symmetry 
Emotional Values of Color & Shape - A high school Introduction 
3 Primary Colors - Elementary
Depth through color change - Penn & Teller
Color Theory 
What is Color 
Complementary Colors 
Optical Illusions 
Career in Makeup Design - a project.
What is Art? 60 Minutes
What is Art? (Humor)
The Value of Art 
Coin Manufacturing - Low Relief Sculpture
8 Art Elements - Introduction
Art Principles - Introduction
Balance - Short film, Oscar Winner
One Point Perspective 
The Difference between Art and Craft - TED
Free-flow Sketching - Links to facebook
Giant Watercolor Painting - "Three Amigos"
Persian Calligraphy 
Gridding Drawings 
Gridding Portraits 
Van Gogh & Math 
Collaborating with children - Monsters More info HERE
Why is Modern Art So Bad - Great intro for a writing assignment or debate.
I Could Do That: PBS - Good response to the above.
What is Art by McHooots - Alternative to the above, appropriate for all levels._
Carving Candles - An old craft.
Gyotaku - Japanese Fish Printing
Vintage Disney Animation (& Collaboration) 
Fractals 
Creating an Adventure - (Good start for graphic novel unit)
Secret of Drawing #1 (AP Art Level) #2, #3, #4 
Perspective (Empire of the Eye, a series of videos)
Relief Sculpture - Plaster on wallboard by Bernie Mitchell
100 Thank Yous - A project idea (Each student make 4?)
Chuck Jones & Loony Tunes Animation
How Ink Is Made 
Levels of Abstraction Via "Inside Out"
Flag Design - Good Design vs Bad Design TED.com
​Good Design Matters 
 

Videos - Instructional

Color: Elementary
Lines: Song - Elementary
9 Composition Tips (Photography but can be applied to 2D art)
Science of Symmetry 
Emotional Values of Color & Shape - A high school Introduction 
3 Primary Colors - Elementary
Depth through color change - Penn & Teller
Color Theory 
What is Color 
Complementary Colors 
Optical Illusions 
Career in Makeup Design - a project.
What is Art? 60 Minutes
What is Art? (Humor)
The Value of Art 
Coin Manufacturing - Low Relief Sculpture
8 Art Elements - Introduction
Art Principles - Introduction
Balance - Short film, Oscar Winner
One Point Perspective 
The Difference between Art and Craft - TED
Free-flow Sketching - Links to facebook
Giant Watercolor Painting - "Three Amigos"
Persian Calligraphy 
Gridding Drawings 
Gridding Portraits 
Van Gogh & Math 
Collaborating with children - Monsters More info HERE
Why is Modern Art So Bad - Great intro for a writing assignment or debate.
I Could Do That: PBS - Good response to the above.
What is Art by McHooots - Alternative to the above, appropriate for all levels._
Carving Candles - An old craft.
Gyotaku - Japanese Fish Printing
Vintage Disney Animation (& Collaboration) 
Fractals 
Creating an Adventure - (Good start for graphic novel unit)
Secret of Drawing #1 (AP Art Level) #2, #3, #4 
Perspective (Empire of the Eye, a series of videos)
Relief Sculpture - Plaster on wallboard by Bernie Mitchell
100 Thank Yous - A project idea (Each student make 4?)
Chuck Jones & Loony Tunes Animation
How Ink Is Made 
Levels of Abstraction Via "Inside Out"
Flag Design - Good Design vs Bad Design  TED.com
​Good Design Matters 
 

VIDEOS : Contemporary Artists

Jin Kim - Gray tone ceramics 
Typewriter Artist
Pushpin Art
Shadow Art 
Garbage Bag Art 
Phil Hanson at Work making Burger Art
Theo Jansen "Living Sculptures"
Single Sheet Paper Cut Art
Reverse Graffiti 
Dirt Painting 
Shepard Fairey - Obama Hope Poster
Shepard Fairey - Different Than above
Money as ArtArthur Ganson Moving Sculpture
Paper Artist/Designer 
Ra Paulette Cave Sculptures
Moshe Safdie - Architect 
KAWS 
Clark Little - Photographer
Marchello Barenghi - Realistic Drawings: multi-media
Icheon Ceramics - Several Masters [More Here]
Marela Zacarias - Patterned sculpture (Window screen & joint compound)
Street Art - (2 Female Artists) Swoon & Olek
Jeff Koons on Charlie Rose (2nd link here)
Eric Standley - Laser cut paper
Micro-Organism Art - Klaus Kemp, master of Victorian diatom arrangement
Bamboo Art - Japan
Glass Weaving by Markow & Norris
Bruce Riley - Resin Painter 
Steven Spazuk - Painting with Fire and Smoke
Kintsugi: The Art of Broken Pieces
Jack Storms - Glass Sculpture
Kendra Haste - Wire Sculptures
Yayoi Kusama - Installation Art
Karina Smigla-Bobinski - Installation art
Maggie Taylor - Digital Artist and photographer
Wood Mirror by Daniel Rozin
A Day in the life of a comic artist (~30 min.) 

eResources

Cross Curriculum eResources

The unexpected math behind Van Gogh's "Starry Night" - Natalya St. Clair

Jeanne Mammen ~ 1920's Art Deco art fashion illustration

Jeanne Mammen (1890–1976) was a German painter and illustrator of the Weimar period.

Her work is associated with the New Objectivity 

and Symbolism movements.

She is best known for her depictions of strong, sensual women and Berlin city life

12 techniques-one image : Patchwork Tree