Skip to main content

ART: Surrealism

Surrealism

The simplest Surrealist act consists of dashing down into the street, pistol in hand, and firing blindly, as fast as you can pull the trigger, into the crowd.
Andre Breton, Second Manifesto of Surrealism 

Let us not mince words: the marvellous is always beautiful. Anything marvellous is beautiful, in fact only the marvellous is beautiful. 
Andre Breton, 1924

And ever since I have had a great desire to show forbearance to scientific musing, however unbecoming, in the final analysis, from every point of view. Radio? Fine. Syphilis? If you like. Photography? I don\'t see any reason why not. The cinema? Three cheers for darkened years. War? Gave us a good laugh. The telephone? Hello. Youth? Charming white hair. Try to make me say thank you: "Thank you." Thank you. 
Andre Breton, Manifesto of Surrealism

 

Link : http://www.surrealists.co.uk/surrealist_manifesto.php​ 

Surrealism

  • Art Dicitonary
    "Art-Dictionary.org is a free online resource providing you with some of the best selections of online Art Dictionaries available on the Web. [Their] art dictionaries intend to help you in understanding the art terms and jargons, colloquialisms, formal and informal expressions widely used when discussing the Arts." - Art Dictionary
  • Artcyclopedia
    Artcyclopedia is a form of Internet search engine. It has 9,000 artists listed, 2,900 art sites indexed and 160,000 links.
  • ArtLex
    "ArtLex is and on-line dictionary for artists, collectors, students and educators in art production, criticism, history, aesthetics, and education. You'll find definitions for more than 3,600 terms used in discussing art and visual culture, along with thousands of supporting images, pronunciation notes, great quotations and cross-references." - ArtLex
  • Arts at eNotes
    "eNotes is an educational resource used by millions of teachers and students. [They] have thousands of literature study guides, lesson plans, literary criticism, and a vibrant community that we invite you to join." - eNotes
  • The Biography Project: An Independent Reference Resource  
    This is an independent reference resource that gives brief biographical sketches of people and movements in pop sub-culture. The site is partnered with Amazon to offer a link to the books that have been referenced. This is a good place to find reference material, but is not acceptable for use as a primary source.
  • Centre Pompidou: Surrealist Art  
    The Centre Pompidou has "the leading collection of modern and contemporary art in Europe, a vast public reference library with facilities for over 2,000 readers, general documentation on 20th century art"...this link on their website gives reference information about the Surrealist movement, including a glossary and chronology (Centre Pompidou). It can be used as a primary source.
  • Guggenheim
    "An internationally renowned art museum and one of the most significant architectural icons of the 20th century, the Guggenheim Museum is at once a vital cultural center, an educational institution, and the heart of an international network of museums." - Guggenheim
  • MoMA - Art Terms
    "The Museum of Modern Art is a place that fuels creativity, ignites minds, and provides inspiration. With extraordinary exhibitions and the world's finest collection of modern and contemporary art, MoMA is dedicated to the conversation between the past and the present, the established and the experimental. Our mission is helping you understand and enjoy the art of our time." - MoMA
  • Oxford Dictionary of Art
    An on-line dictionary of art terms.
  • Tate Glossary
    "The Tate Glossary online is designed to explain and illuminate some of the art terminology you will find in the collection pages. It contains definitions, most with illustrations, of nearly 300 terms including artist groups and art movements, techniques, media and other art jargon." - Tate

Video

Alberto Giacometti, Palace at 4am, wood, glass, wire and string, 1932 (MoMA)
Series of five videos

Dreams of Dalí: 360º Video

Published on Jan 21, 2016 Go inside and beyond Dalí’s painting Archeological Reminiscence of Millet’s Angelus and explore the world of the surrealist master like never before. Experience Dreams of Dalí in the special exhibit Disney & Dalí: Architects of the Imagination at The Dalí Museum in St. Petersburg, Florida, or at dreamsofdali.org