Skip to main content

Middle Years Science: Classification

Middle Years Science

Keywords for searching online

Science  |   Biological sciences  |   Living things  |   Microbes  |   Explanations (scientific inquiry)  |   Classification  |  Adaptation (Evolution)  |   Food webs  |   Palaeontologists  |   Trilobites  |   Earth's crust  | Habitats  |   Genomes |    Fishes  |   Aquatic respiration     

Growth (Animals)  |   Nutrition  |   Food processing  |   Placentals  |

Free access websites and online databases - Science

Instagrok

An interactive search engine for learning, that uses concept maps to show how ideas connect.

Don't forget to use the online World Book Encyclopedia and EBSCO Databases on the Student Intranet page!

 

Building Knowledge

Watch the videos and read the articles to build background knowledge about cells

 

A tour inside a cell

Take the tour to learn about the structure of a cell

The very first cell

Watch the film to learn about  how the Earth is billions of years old and was once a very hostile place. Eventually, a single cell was formed that evolved and reproduced. What conditions produced this first life on Earth?

Videos:

What is a cell?

Animal cells structure and function

Magic School Bus goes cellular

Websites:

BBC Bitesize Cells to systems 

Cells are the starting point 

Spotlight: cells 

DK FIND IT OUT!

Ology

Classification

BBC Bitesize: Classification

  • Classifying Life

Ausmepa Photo Library

AUSMEPA is a library of photographic images of Australian marine and coastal environments. The library contains a wide range of images tagged and searchable by categories including: Australian state and territory, type of organism, major habitats and ships. The collection is periodically updated with new images.

Food Chains/Webs

Food Chain Basics

Food Web Map

  • Build Your Own Food Web
  • Fun with Food Webs

Food Chain Definition

Food Chains ,Food Webs,Energy Pyramid in Ecosystems-Video for Kids

Ocean Food Webs - Food Chains vs Food Webs

Food Webs and Food Chains Made Simple

Tree of Life Cladogram

What is an organism?

Ecosystems

bioGraphic

Aquatic Econsystems

Rockpools

  • Aquatic Ecosystems
  • The Aquatic Biome
  • What are wetlands?

Ecosystems

Study Jams - Ecosystems

  • Endangered Ecosystems
  • Plants, Animals, and Ecosystems
  • Desertification

Human impact on Ecosystems

Bagheera

  • Water
  • The Global Canopy Programme

Interactive

What is taxonomy?

Macquarie Island

Explore Macquarie Island as a case study of the interconnectedness of our world.

Watch Rabbits on the run as Macquarie Island's mission accomplished from the 7.30 Report about the eradication program on Macquarie Island.

Read While The Cat's Away: How Removing An Invasive Species Devastated A World Heritage Island about the impacts of removing an invasive species on the island.

Fact sheet - Macquarie Island: from rabbits and rodents to recovery and renewal and Rabbit hunters head to Macquarie Island

Examine this diagram showing a network of interactions on Macquarie Island

Department of the Environment: Macquarie Island station

Find information on the location, environment and wildlife and the scientific programs at Macquarie Island

Shipwrecks, Sealers and Scientists: Macquarie Island

This site provides some history and sailor's stories from Macquarie Island

World Heritage Places - Macquarie Island

Click on the Fact sheet - Macquarie Island: from rabbits and rodents to recovery and renewal

Click on Macquarie Island is declared officially pest-free

Plan for the Eradication of Rabbits and Rodents on Subantarctic Macquarie Island

This resource from 2 Tasmanian Government Departments provides details of the eradication program.

SCOOTLE

For Teachers

Smithsonian Museum

Encyclopedia of Life
The Encyclopedia of Life (EOL) is an ambitious project to organize and make available via the Internet virtually all information about life present on Earth. At its heart lies a series of Web sites: One for each of the approximately 1.8 million known species. Each site is constantly evolving and features content ranging from historical literature and biological descriptions to stunning images, videos and distribution maps.

Encyclopedia Smithsonian
From Art to Zoology, chose a topic related to Smithsonian Collections to explore!

Discovering and Understanding Life's Diversity

Reefs Unleashed
Learn the techniques marine biologists use to document the extreme diversity of life in our planet's oceans, and then try them yourself! Identify the animals that took up residence on a plate in an autonomous reef monitoring structure, or “reef condo,” in Bali. See if what you found matches existing species.

Coral Reef Interactive
This web-based tool is designed for students to take on the persona of a local resident, a hotel manager, or a tourist. In these roles, they weigh the interdependence between the economic and social impact of human activity and the biological needs of a coral reef and its conservation.

North American Mammals
There is a web page for every species on the continent with great images of mammals, audio recordings, range maps, scientific illustrations, a glossary, and an interactive map that lets students create field guides for anywhere in Canada, the U.S.A. and Mexico. Mammals are searchable by location, by name, and family tree. Special information on conservation of endangered species is also provided.

Collections Database
Students can search the database to conduct virtual research on the Museum’s collections to make their own comparisons, using information and photos of the specimens in the collections.